We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming decor”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Shelburne, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“charming decor”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stay here regularly whenever we need to go to Halifax. The decor is charming, the rooms are comfortable and the staff very gracious and attentive. Super location with several nice restaurants nearby. If you are looking for old charm this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry and Carol... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    208
    64
    12
    4
See reviews for
52
299
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Vanja and I enjoyed both stays at The Waverley Inn. We spent two nights there at the beginning of May, at the onset of a three week tour of the Atlantic Provinces, and two nights at the end of the three weeks. Both rooms were on the main floor. The first room was a little nicer , particularly the bathroom - the one right beside the check in desk, but both were lovely, spotless, with very comfortable beds. The old world charm of the building is very special, the desk staff are welcoming, warm, helpful and thoughtful. The breakfast provided offered a nice hot variety every day, with an ample cold selection, juices and hot beverages. Parking is free and on site. Wifi was speedy and worked well. The location is right downtown on Barrington - very central and within walking distance of the harbour and a half a block from The Henry House for a delicious bowl of "English Onion Soup" or a great before dinner drink.

Room Tip: The room right beside the office is the only sound proof room in the building. The other one we stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACanadianFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

the good - close to downtown
includes parking and continental breakfast
the bad - the decor is old ugly antiques and ugly wallpaper
the staff talks about the guests within earshot of other guests and they are not friendly
the building is rumored to be haunted, and someone tried to get in my room one night at 4 am. I phoned the desk, they said they would be up to look around, they didn't come up.
it's across the street from a very noisy jazz bar and a hostel
don't stay in one of the rooms off the lobby, too noisy, especially the one beside the coffee/snak table
there is no elevator, so long way up if you have mobility issues
it's an old old building, so i found it quite cold in my room, took forever to get it to warm up with those old radiators

Room Tip: do not get a room near the lobby, there are 3 rooms off the lobby, it is way too noisy. Do not get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minusbasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Fantastic place, such decor and history! We stayed as a family of three in a two double bed room. The beds were amazingly comfortable, and the decor was gorgeous! The breakfast included was also quite good, the location is excellent, not far from Alexander Keiths, Spring Garden Road, or the waterfront. I would return for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ctiger87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay. Beautiful rooms and a great price for Halifax. So many historic figures stayed here. I was in a room Oscar Wilder stayed in. Clean and great staff. You are away from the core but a very short walk to it. Some good restaurants around it also.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank theklingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Historic and picturesque, but has been modernized over the past decade or so and for the price it's a serious bargain. Comfortable, reasonable amenities, friendly and helpful staff, and convenient parking. And right where we want to be when we go to Halifax. Breakfast, included, is okay, though we wouldn't write home about it; afternoon tea in the lobby was a pleasant surprise. Furniture and decoration all appropriately antique without being kitsch or cute. We stayed with friends from New York, to whom we'd recommended it, and we were all more than happy with the choice.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and it was NOT noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneandRussHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Comfortable and convenient - right down town - the Waverley Inn is a nicely preserved piece of the city's past. The wifi, parking (a spacious lot, not a low ceilinged, cramped garage) and breakfast are all included in a price that appears to be the best available in the downtown area for accommodations of this calibre. I've stayed at most of the 4-stars in the area and this rivals any of them and has character unmatched by any. My high-topped truck and I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFSJNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
The Halliburton
#6 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Property: Waverley Inn
Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing