We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delightful”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I chose the Waverley Inn for the convenience of the location. It is a block and a bit from the train station, so the Via Rail access couldn't be better. What a wonderful experience to find this charming hotel filled with character and good service. There are wonderful pieces of antique furniture everywhere. My guest room, though smallish, offered charm and a comfortable bed. The staff were all friendly and helpful. It is an easy walk to many of the must see sights of the Halifax waterfront and the Citadel. The only minus to the experience was no elevator, but the staff helped with luggage and using the stairs did give me a chance to see more of the furnishings and art pieces. An added bonus was a great Thai restaurant across the street, the Talay Thai.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jam825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 577 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Waverly Inn was a nice hotel with plenty of open parking spaces, located quite close to the boardwalk along the harbour front. Our room was nice and cosy though the washroom was quite small. Tea, coffee and biscuits were available 24 hours on the hall near the reception and I thought that was a nice touch. It meant you didn’t have to spend time getting your evening tea and in the morning, if you had to leave early, you still got your morning wake up drink even if the restaurants were not open. They had a good collection of books to read along the corridors which was really cool.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent two nights at the Waverley. What a wonderful start to our Canadian trip. We were enchanted when we saw our beautiful room. Victorian but with central heating & modern bathroom. We had a great welcome on arrival & all the staff were pleasant & helpful. There is a complimentary breakfast provided. Free parking is a bonus but we did not use that as we did not pick up a car until we moved on. The Waverley is ideally placed for the centre of Halifax. There are plenty of restaurants nearby to choose from. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our short stay at the beautifully appointed Waverley Inn was spoiled by a frequent but inconsistent rhythmic drip of rainwater onto the aircon box outside our window, which kept us awake all night. The tinny sound of water on metal was clearly heard (despite closing window) all night. When we were asked at checkout time if our stay was ok, we answered truthfully, and were dismissed with an 'Oh, that's interesting, it's probably water dripping off the aircon for the room above.'
We did not expect to be compensated, being reasonable people, but felt the receptionist was so dismissive, that she obviously did not care one way or the other if her guests had had a good stay or not. She did not even say that she was sorry we'd had no sleep!
We had a second two night stay booked the following week, but in light of her off-hand attitude, we cancelled this and booked elsewhere.
A real shame that such a lovely hotel left us with the impression that the decor is is the priority here, rather than the guest experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

For a last minute reservation, Waverley Inn was a great find. Its location makes it easy access to down-town everything. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Walking up three flights was a bit unpleasant but the trick is to carry as little luggage as possible - just the absolutely necessary. I'll know next time ! Free parking was a real bonus in that part of Halifax.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozincan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

To say the Waverley Inn is beautiful would be an understatement. There is nothing I would change about this place. A great location right downtown, clean, friendly service, gorgeous stately rooms. Our room was large and spacious, free wifi, and all the amenities you could ask for.
I would highly recommend it for anyone coming to halifax!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krisfa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The fluffy beds with their gigantic pillows and duvets are worth the cost alone. But when you add this in to the price, the beautifully maintained building and the friendly service this is a steal compared to local hotels. Comes with antique four poster beds, good sized rooms, a nice array of amenities in your room, Wifi, afternoon biscuits and tea, and a breakfast. This is the kind of inn that is disappearing, being replaced by bland four or five star interchangeable hotels. Love this and will definitely book a return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellylisamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
The Halliburton
#8 of 28 in Halifax
751 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#4 of 28 in Halifax
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $86 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing