We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay in Halifax”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Place To Stay in Halifax”
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed two nights in July, 2008 -- although a 7-10 walk to the waterfront -- price was great -- and the rooms were good size and air conditioned. Breakfast was great in the morning. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank samriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    215
    66
    13
    4
See reviews for
53
309
46
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We stayed at the Waverly Inn on our first night of a ten day trip around Novia Scotia and New Brunswick. The location of the Inn was within walking distance of the water front and pier area. The inside of the Inn was very well kept. The rooms were a decent size, we were in a room with a jacuzzi. Would recommend this to anyone traveling to Halifax and don,t want to stay in the box type of facility.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RaginCajun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

While the premises upstairs are charming, we were dismayed by the very poor quality of the breakfast. Packaged cereals (including microwaved oatmeal), insipid eggs, and cheap bread for toasting, and the heated items were not refreshed enough. When we mentioned this at the desk, the clerk feigned astonishment. Later in our trip we met others who had stayed there, and they were also disappointed by the breakfast, and the management response to their complaint.

  • Liked — Quaint Building and furnishings
  • Disliked — Very poor Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WRoverT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

We spent one night in the Waverly Inn on Barrington Street, and it was a good choice.

The Inn is a more than century old building, which has been well preserved and updated for its guests.

Our room was on the ground floor, a bit too close to the lobby for not being disturbed, but I would imagine the upper rooms are better there.

Although the rooms are not very big, they are extremely well appointed and the bed is super comfortable. We loved the crisp white linens and the V- shaped back pillow, which made for easy TV viewing from the queen sized bed.

The small three piece bathroom was immaculate. Nice enclosed shower and all the usual - shampoos, shower caps, lotions etc in a neat basket..

Breakfast was included in the price, and we found it to be mediocre. Nothing special, but then nothing too bad either. The dining area is in the basement area, so no view and pretty basic in decor. The spread was more like the one you receive in budget hotels - little tubs of cream cheese and jams and small boxes of cereal etc. It would have been nice to have some plain yoghurt and a better variety of fruit and granola, for example.

The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Guest computers with printers are readily available in the lobby area, and a really nice touch, is that cookies, cakes, tea and coffee are put out in the afternoons for guests to help themselves. Parking is included in a lot right at the inn, so no extra has to be spent on that.

There are a variety of good and reasonable restaurants in walking distance of the inn, and it is easy to take a stroll to the waterfront, too.

  • Liked — The beds and linens
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Stayed there for 4 nights with my husband. Nice room but the antique bed was uncomfortable but very beautiful. Best thing about the room was the large bathtub (it is not a jacuzzi as their website claims) which was very nice.
It is close to the center about 5 minuets walk.
THe breakfast was OK, I may have expected more from all the reviews from this site.
The pancakes were not at all good and not much variety was on offer. The same things were on offer my long week-end.
So overall this is just an average B&B.

  • Liked — bathtub in bathroom
  • Disliked — uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frqntfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We found the Waverly Inn by walking through Halifax and stopped in to check room availability for the night. The location is historic, having housed P.T. Barnum, Oscar Wilde, and the Vanderbilt's! The bed was a carved work of art, very ornate, matching the historic room decor. Although the room was small, it was comfortable, had everything we needed, and computers were even located in the lobby for our use. The reception desk was more than friendly and willing to suggest local bars and restaurants to visit. I would recommend the Waverly Inn to most everyone!

  • Liked — The rich history.
  • Disliked — Smaller rooms, view of parking lot.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MappyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

I stayed at this inn when I was in Halifax for a conference. The room, although a bit small was very comfortable and the inn is a great location in Halifax.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Janie_pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,857 reviews
The Halliburton
#8 of 28 in Halifax
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Property: Waverley Inn
Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing