We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waverley Inn
Nearby Hotels
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$137
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coastal Inn Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Nova Scotian(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$177
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$172
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Delta Hotels Halifax(Halifax)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$100
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveler rating
268
228
70
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
228
70
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoscar wildeno elevatorfree parkingantique furnitureblues bargreat locationfirst floorhenry housedowntown halifaxwithin walking distancebreakfast roomtea and coffeebarrington streetmain floorjacuzzi tubflights of stairsbaked goods
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 584 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My room was on the ground floor; it was small, as was the bathroom, and the window (with view of the wall next door so very little natural light), but nevertheless it was comfortable and quiet. Reception was very helpful. Breakfast was so so: adequate, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Waverly Inn is a lovely elegant hotel. We had stayed there twice before and we certainly will stay there again. We had chosen one of the most inexpensive rooms (Traditional). It was very small, but there was lots of nice little extras and we were just there for one night.Parking was convenient and the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was a little disappointing, but adequate. Next time we'll stay more than one night and opt for a Standard or Deluxe room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Waverley Inn is an Medium class hotel at best , nice elegant furnishings and common areas. The parking is good and allows you to park there and walk around the area easily. The breakfast was disappointing, choice pretty limited.
Our room whilst a large double bedded room ( our request), was sadly on the front of the hotel & the noise from across the road prevented any sleep until the early hours, thus would suggest that anyone who is not a night owl requests a room at the rear of the hotel.
The reception staff during the day were good, i do however have some concerns over the suitability of one character when returning post dinner one evening.

Room Tip: You must ask for a room at the rear or put up with excessive noise from the bars & clubs acrosss te road from the hotel
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogandrose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The Waverley Inn is a lovely hotel, with elegant furnishings and common areas. The hotel staff were very helpful with area sites & meal suggestions. The parking is very convenient and allows you to park there and walk around the major sites easily. The breakfast was disappointing, there were a large number of diners on a Sunday morning with very little available food so we were left to find our own breakfast offsite.

I would return to the Waverley on another occasion but would ask for a room that doesn't face the main street - the music from the bar across the street could be heard well into the wee hours of the morning.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank dpl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Waverley Inn has a lot going for it: a great walkable location, friendly, very helpful staff, comfy queen bed, cleanliness, and our room wasn't small. But it fell short on the most basic requirements: reasonable quiet and ventilation. Our stay was only one night in early September. The outside air was pleasantly cool, so we opened the window. That let in not only air but a loud mechanical hum, with an intermittent and even louder blowing sound that cycled every 8 - 11 seconds. So we closed the window and tried the air conditioner. The roar was like being in a jet plane. There was an overhead fan, but it emitted a high-pitched whine, and was hooked up to the main light switch, so it didn't work unless the lights were on.

This was room 101, next to the front desk. I don't know about other rooms, but this one should not be given to hotel guests.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 and inquire about AC noise and ventilation.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arlanza707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews