We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service”
Review of The Halliburton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Halliburton
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My regret is that I did not have more time to spend in Halifax or this lovely hotel. My room was beautiful, the bed super comfortable and the shower was great. Breakfast too was good. The front desk service both the evening I arrived and leaving the next day was outstanding. The young lady who checked me in had to answer a lot of questions and recommend a place for dinner -- great job! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 751 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Halliburton is a wonderful property with beautiful accommodations, excellent service and great location downtown close to waterfront and Spring Garden Road. Breakfast is included and free off street parking is a bonus! Stories Restaurant, located in the main building, is not to be missed! There is a beautiful little courtyard behind the buildings with bistro tables and beautiful foliage that is an oasis in the middle of the city. As we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary there was a bottle of bubbly on ice in our room upon arrival with a lovely handwritten note of congratulations. Such a thoughtful touch! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rchafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at The Halliburton September 13 - 16 th. after an overnight red eye flight from Alberta we checked in and were told they would put us on a list for early check-in. With no high expectations we left our cell phone number and continued on to tour the city in a sleep deprived haze. We were so surprised to receive a call from the hotel @ 10 am telling us our room was available. I would recommend this hotel and will certainly revisit. Wonderful staff, lovely clean rooms and a beautiful heritage site! Try it...you will love it!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank epCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Extremely pleasant staff--room overlooking the garden. Great location, walkable to everything. And when I was in need of a cup of tea, late in the afternoon, a pot of Earl Grey was instantly prepared by the woman at the bell desk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank nancysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were there 3 nights and loved it. This is wonderful old historic hotel in a great location. The complementary breakfast was nice - I have never had baked beans offered at breakfast before, but they were yummy. Rooms were very nice, but small. The only negative was we were on the 3rd floor and there was no elevator and the bell captain had gone home for the day!. We had a AAA travel rep make these reservations for us and there not being an elevator never was discussed - we always ask for a ground floor room in hotel properties where there isn't an elevator. The young lady at the desk, who was quite fit, helped us with our luggage and between the three of us we made it. The hotel was so lovely that after we caught our breath, we were very glad we were staying there. There are a lot of ground level rooms, so there should not be a problem - just ask when you make your reservation. A very nice, upscale restaurant in the lobby and many nice neighborhood restaurants very close by. The waterfront is a short walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LasVegasSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The property is very unusual being spread across different buildings. We were therefore grateful for help with our luggage up several flights of stairs and across the charming courtyard at the back (especially as it was raining!) Free parking is a terrific bonus. Food was excellent and the situation brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building with easiest access to the car park.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank freaktrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Enjoyed our visit here. Hotel is near waterfront, so climbing the BIG HILLS to get to hotels at the top was not an issue. Staff was very accommodating and breakfast was great. Free parking is available behind the hotel. It was good that a staff member helped with the luggage....steps are high, no elevator and negotiating them with baggage isn't easy. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
579 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halliburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halliburton

Address: 5184 Morris St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $119 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Halliburton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Halifax’s historic boutique hotel. The Halliburton features signature dining and individually appointed guest rooms in a trio of heritage townhouses. A favorite downtown retreat for visitors and locals alike, The Halliburton offers a unique four-star hotel experience; a blend of contemporary amenities and personalized service in a historic setting. 'Stories' restaurant offers inventive regional cuisine in intimate dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Halliburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Halifax
The Halliburton Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing