We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Townhouse Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Halliburton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Halliburton
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Townhouse Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice during our visit to Canada last August. The hotel is well-located for a walking tour of old Halifax and close to the harbour. The bedroom was small but well-appointed. There was a small carpark in which to park the car. There was a small terrace outside on which to sit and read. On the first visit we were given a restaurant recommendation by the hotel which proved to be disastrous, for which they were apologetic the next day. On the second visit we eat in the hotel restaurant which was small but the food and service was good. The fact that I have used the word "small" four times probably indicates the downside of this otherwise attractive hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halliburtonHalifax, General Manager at The Halliburton, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
You have hit the nail on the head with your review David. We are a small, independent hotel and as such pride ourselves as being an alternative to the big hotel experience. It is an aspect of our property that allows us to provide the personal, comfortable and attentive service our guests expect as they enjoy their Halifax visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    211
    62
    21
    13
See reviews for
57
384
43
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days on a work trip and found this hotel to be cosy, warm and very nice. However, I found that for a work trip, it didn't meet my needs well. The room was really small and there was no desk. So for getting a little work done in the evening or between meetings, I was either working in bed, or at one point I pulled an end table and worked off the the edge of my bed! I was also in the main building and I found it to be quite noisy! I would recommend this hotel for a nice vacation trip. Not the most suitable for work

The breakfast provided was perfect for a light meal- breads, bagels, hard boiled eggs, fruit salad, cereal etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0yalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here twice now and gained a very favourable impression of the hotel on both occasions. The service is warm and friendly and has the small hotel feel whereby the staff are happy to provide assistance whatever the issue / question. The Breakfasts are buffet style and the choice of bagels / muffins / meats etc and was a great to start the day.
Nice lobby and cosy lounge to the side that has free teas/coffees and plenty of books to enjoy.
The location is good, fairly quiet area but an easy walk into Market street / Waterfront. Some good pubs and eateries close by so you really don't need to go far to enjoy some great meals and hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Quiet, botique hotel. Nice location in downtown Halifax. Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Restaurant is great. There is some parking available. Overall very nice atmosphere. Close to many places you might wish to walk to.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photoreceptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great place to stay, clean, quiet, accommodating (needed an extra blanket, readily provided). Great location, could walk most places in Halifax from there. Movies and books in the lobby to use. Parking provided free. Mattress was slept on quite a bit (hollow spots). One downside, lots of stairs, so no wheelchair accessibility, hard on the knees after walking outside all day. Coffee in room, continental breakfast was adequate but nothing special. Didn't eat in the restaurant as there are so many neat places nearby. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
360 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Situated downtown Halifax.The rooms are in a trio of heritage town houses. All 29 rooms are finished to a very high standard. Every room is unique. Breakfast is buffet style and their Bistro in the evening offers fine dining and is worth trying as one cannot fail to be impressed. This was our first stay and a week was not long enough. We will definitely stay here again when in Halifax. Nothing was to muchtgrouble for the attentive staff.

Room Tip: For a real treat splash out on the Grand suite king Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halliburtonHalifax, Manager at The Halliburton, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We were pleased to host your visit and happy to hear you enjoyed your evening's at our restaurant Stories. We are featured in this February's "Dine Around" Halifax. Three courses from our Chef's menu for $45. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We got married at the Halliburton on Dec 12, 2012 and would highly recommend it to anyone. The service is excellent, the building is beautiful and the food is some of the best in the city! The private dining room was nicely decorated, and the Library (complete with fireplace) was a cosy space for an intimate winter wedding. This heritage building has rooms of all shapes and sizes (including a wonderful grand suite) so we would recommend inquiring about the specific location and type of room because some require the use of stairs (not elevator). This will ensure you get a room that meets your needs. The chef at the Halliburton selects menu items dependent on the season and locally available ingredients so the food is really amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattdoiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halliburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halliburton

Property: The Halliburton
Address: 5184 Morris St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Halliburton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Halifax’s historic boutique hotel. The Halliburton features signature dining and individually appointed guest rooms in a trio of heritage townhouses. A favorite downtown retreat for visitors and locals alike, The Halliburton offers a unique four-star hotel experience; a blend of contemporary amenities and personalized service in a historic setting. 'Stories' restaurant offers inventive regional cuisine in intimate dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Halliburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Hotel Halifax
Halliburton Halifax
The Halliburton Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing