We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for a conference, so it was very convenient. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was close to the water so nice for walking around. Staff very nice, including the housekeeping staff.The room was quite small and the bathroom was adequate but nothing special. However, an unusual thing about this hotel is that it actually appears to be quite old. Our room appeared to be at the end of an unrenovated hallway that smelled old and musty, and even the room doors were old wood doors completely different from other more modern parts of the hotel. It seemed a little second-class. I've never experienced anything quite like it. They had a fantastic breakfast buffet which made for a speedy breakfast. One shortcoming is that the hotel didn't seem to have an actual concierge, which seemed odd for a busy conference facility; the people at the registration desk told us that the people at the front door also were the concierges. Can this be possible? So we relied heavily on online sources for restaurant recommendations. I think if I came back to Halifax for a pleasure trip I would try to find someplace different to try.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwright6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We're happy you enjoyed our convenient location, conference facilities and friendly staff.

Our historic hotel is one of the original railway hotels in Canada and is over 80 years old. The Westin Nova Scotian boasts modern amenities while preserving the classic, original features of the heritage hotel. We continue to invest in the grand property.

We hope to welcome you back again, whether for business or leisure.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,804)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Nova Scotian
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed a total of 3 nights at the Westin at the beginning and end of our trip to Nova Scotia. Both rooms were fine, but we had to settle for smaller room on our first visit to get a queen instead of 2 double beds. Everyone was friendly, the bed was comfy (a bit firmer than home), and the room was clean. The best thing about this hotel is the location! It's within walking distance of the farmer's market and the beautiful harbor which was really fun on a Saturday night. Halifax is a great city with great restaurants, and the Westin was a good reliable choice for accommodation.

Room Tip: Since it's the main city in NS, Halifax can get booked up pretty quickly if there are weddings...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Nova Scotia. We're happy you enjoyed your time in Halifax and at the Westin Nova Scotian.

We'll be sure to share your kind comments with our team. We hope your travels bring you back to the area again soon.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here on business. Although nothing special, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water. There is a decent workout area and indoor saltwater pool which was nice. The staff/service was very professional and friendly. The location of the hotel is excellent. Just a block to the boardwalk where there is plenty of restaurants. I will certainly look to return next time I'm in Halifax.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank mbellny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback. We look forward to your next visit to Halifax and the Westin Nova Scotian.

We hope your travels bring you back to the hotel again soon.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

As a SPG platinum member - I have high expectations of all the starwood hotels i stay at - and the Westin Nova Scotian was a top hotel in my mind. The staff were all very friendly and i was in a great corner room on the 8th floor (Room 800). The gym at the hotel was better than expected and the food at element was amazing. Thanks for a great stay

I only wish they had an Westin lounge - or if they did for some reason i was not told about it

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torontotraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for loyalty. We're delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful visit at the hotel and an enjoyable dining experience at elements on hollis.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review;we'll be sure to share your comments with our team. We hope your travels bring you back to Halifax again soon.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We only stayed one night, but it was an excellent experience. It was easy to access, right next to a supermarket and within walking distance of several great restaurants. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. We had exceptional service from Kaylee at the front desk.

Room Tip: Harbor views are nice but ask for an upper floor on a weekend if there is an event or wedding, or y...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear you had such an enjoyable experience at the Westin Nova Scotian.

Kaylee is a great asset to the hotel and we'll be sure to share your kind words with her and the team.

We hope your travels bring you back to the Westin again soon.
Until next time.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Poor inefficient service
October 22, 2013
I travel frequently for conferences and have stayed in many hotels, not typically Westin. I experienced a number of problems with this hotel - I had asked for a cot to be placed in the room but the hotel staff wasn't aware of this when I checked in. The room had to be changed to a larger one to accommodate a cot. OK fine. But no cot was sent up and I had to call again to ask for the cot.
Room service - I had to call 3 times to get an item sent up. I've never experienced this at any other hotel.
Checking out - the hotel can't leave a copy of the invoice under your door for review prior to check out because the "doors are made soundproof and we wouldn't be able to slip it under the door". I was checking out at 5 AM and didn't have enough time to review the invoice. The person at the desk was not very courteous.
Invoice - I was actually charged for the cot - even though the reason for the cot was that no two double bed rooms were available. I've never been charged by a hotel for a cot. I called the hotel to inquire and the person stated she would take it off the bill and email me the revised invoice. I didn't receive the invoice and called again two days later. I was told it was sent to an email address that wasn't mine.
So overall, an atrocious level of service with recurrent errors, inefficiencies.
On the plus side, the food was good and the room was quiet.
But this hotel doesn't strive to make the stay relaxed or pleasant at all, and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The only other Westin I have stayed at was the one in Beijing and that was also a horrible experience. I would not book any Westin hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripping88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for writing a review. We're disappointed to hear about your recent visit to the Westin Nova Scotian; please accept our sincerest apologies for falling short on your service expectations.

We'd like the opportunity to speak with you regarding the issues identified in this review. Should you wish, we encourage you to contact our Hotel Manager, Raj Gupta at raj.gupta@thewestinnovascotian.com to discuss.

We look forward to connecting with you soon.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Westin in Halifax over Thanksgiving Weekend. We were impressed with the front desk staff and two hospitality staff named Sarah. One Sarah worked in the dining room and was exceptionally willing to accommodate us and our party. The other was a supervisor named Sarah and she worked doubly hard to help us with a problem that arose over a dining room reservation.

The room we stayed in (#439) was in desperate need of new beds and bedding. No mattress cover so the sheets kept sliding up the mattress as we tried to sleep. The pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable. It appears that the hotel does not have an ironing machine for the laundry so even on the first day, it looked tired and maybe even unclean. We were busy during our stay so grumbled but put up with the room until our last night. When I showed the manager our room, he found us a different hotel room in which to sleep and we actually slept well that night.

After watching CBC's marketplace show on cleaning in hotels, I recognize some of the same problems that we noticed in the Westin halifax. The air vents were dirty, the carpet needed replacing, the beds were awful and I just wished we had asked for a different room sooner.

Great staff work so hard but without the resources to manage the property, they pale in comparison to poor accommodations.

Room Tip: If the room doesn't look clean or there appear to be problems, don't wait to tell the manage...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

We appreciate you writing a review on TripAdvisor. We'd also like to thank you for taking the time to speak with us regarding your concerns while on property.

We're happy we were able to address your concerns and switch you to another room. We want to assure you that we've spoken to our Housekeeping Department to ensure we're meeting our high cleanliness standards.

During future visit, should you have any concerns or questions regarding your stay, please contact our Front Desk and we'll be more than happy to assist.

We hope your travels bring you back to the Westin.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,972 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#5 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $160 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing