We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, great kitchen and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was able to stay here with a discount so it proved to be wonderful in many ways. It is an older hotel next to the railroad and bus station, but that proved convenient as our time frame matched with a bus that stopped at the airport. The hotel has been refurbished and the service was excellent. The restaurant was the best part with local foods cooked in unique ways. Compliments to the chef.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pulawyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you! At the Westin Nova Scotian, we strive to create a relaxing environment for our guests. We're happy you left more rejuvenated than when you arrived.

elements on hollis is an award-winning restaurant, committed to local food and wine. We'll be sure to personally share your comments with Chef Steven and his team.

It sounds like you enjoyed your time in Halifax and we look forward to your next visit.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

The staff in the hotel and the restaurant are very obliging. I appreciated that a clerk phoned our room to confirm a change in my itinerary--it was done by my husband, who accompanied me, and nice to know that they keep watch on behalf of the client.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111Elaine194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at the Westin Nova Scotian. We're committed to providing our guests with exceptional experiences and we're delighted to hear our associates helped make your stay more enjoyable.

We hope your travels bring you back to the Westin again soon.
Until then.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Simply put this hotel is not at the level of what I've come to expect from a Westin. It is no more than 3 star. The a/c in the room woke me throughout the night as each time the compressor kicked in, it was with a loud bang. I tried turning it off an opening the windows, but there was so much debris outside my window included old soda cans, that the sound of these items being moved around by the wind, was equally loud.
The Valet told us they couldn't help us unload as they were out of carts, then informed us we didn't have time to unload ourselves, that we'd need to move our car first, incase someone needed to drive through. On that note, three cars had already passed.
We were not given the mini bar key, called front desk, and proceeded to wait 30 minutes only to have to call again and request it a second time.
Other than this, the room was fine for a 3 star and the location was good.

Room Tip: Maybe see if they have renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gossipdweeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We're disappointed to read your comments and want to sincerely apologize for not meeting your Westin expectations.

We're sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and would like the opportunity to discuss these with you. We encourage you to contact our Hotel Manager, Raj Gupta at raj.gupta@thewestinnovascotian.com.

We look forward to talking with you soon.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Nova Scotian in august and absolutely loved my stay. I really liked the fact that its close from the water. Also right next to a grocery store. The gym is quite big and pool area very clean. Would definitely return.

My room was big and clean. Just keep in mind this is an older building. So it doesn't have the modern aspect of all the other Westin I have visited.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaLoveParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review on your experience. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay in Halifax and the convenience of our location.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Until next time.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights as part of our vacation. Booked a king room through travelocity as they were on special.

My first impression of the hotel was great! The staff are extremely friendly, the lobby is wonderfully decorated and although it is obviously an older building they've done really well at keeping up with things.

For those driving it is fairly easy to get to (a straight drive across downtown basically) with parking available for a price of course ;) It is also right at the end of the boardwalk and within walking distance to basically everything downtown!

Our room was on the third floor and faced the harbour, the bed was extremely comfortable and we loved the pillows.

We did find there to be a muggy/gross smell in the room (but leaving the windows opened for a bit fixed that quickly). The bathroom was on the small side as well but was nicely decorated.

Overall I would stay here again, especially given the deal we got through travelocity for the King room. I would recommend a harbour view side because it is really lovely!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Westin Nova Scotian. We take pride in our heritage hotel and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed the historic character and modern upgrades around property.

In future stays, should you have any concerns, please contact our Manager on Duty while on property and prior to check-out. This way, we can try to address these issues before your departure.

We look forward to you next visit.
Until next time.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of August to visit family in Halifax. I loved the location of this hotel. It was within walking distance to everything we needed. 5 different micro-breweries, the pier, restaurants and pubs. It was fantastic.

The beds were comfortable and the front-desk staff friendly and very accommodating.

My only negative was I did not like the pillows. But my husband did.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay at the Westin. We're happy you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations, convenient location and friendly staff.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked the Westin Nova Scotia on Priceline at the last minute. The rooms were okay but I was disappointed to find out they only have double beds in all of the rooms. At least that is what we were told. We had a room with two double beds for our family. With 3 suitcases and our flight bags, the room was very crowded. The hotel is quite large so the parking lot to the room was a country mile walk. Overall, I wasn't thrilled and will likely look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear of your disappointments when staying at the Westin Nova Scotian. We do offer a variety of different rooms types; however, when booking through a third-party, we're unable to confirm room types.

In future stays, please contact us directly and our Reservations Team will be happy to help with your reservation. This way, we can guarantee room types and ensure you're in a room that fits your needs.

Should you have any concerns at all, reach out to us directly and we'll be more than happy to assist. We hope to see you again.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,057 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#6 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $124 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing