We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refuse/avoid Room 629!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Refuse/avoid Room 629!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Booked via Priceline, hoping for 4 star quality stay as advised. We understand booking via third party generally means less quality, however within reason!

We arrived to Room 629 making note of the small 3' x 2' sized window apx 5 feet high on the wall (very small, unable to see out). Small room, awkwardly arranged! Small bathroom awkwardly arranged!
We then quickly noticed how HOT and humid the room was.. 35 degrees.. smelling of chlorine initially (almost like a pool was near by). We opened the high window and attempted to use the cooling system without success. Cooling system doesn't work due to being the end of winter, and the window only sucked out air, as the hotel provides positive pressure. We had to open the hotel door to get any air circulation (which provided everyone walking by a great view into our room.
We did call the front desk, w/o much success at first (recommended not using the cooling system, as it provides hot air and crack the window.. noted already cracked). We left the room and came back... still HOT.
Called the front desk, whom now provided a fan and engineer who provided a table to set the fan on in attempt to bring in cool air (which didn't work). Luckily the fan on provided some cooling via air movement while trying to sleep.
We left the window and fan open 2 days and the room was only comfortable by the time to leave.
Now... note the bed... "heavenly bed"... which appeared to be from 2002 by the color of the mattress... was not very heavenly/comfortable to sleep. Very disappointed!
I will note the room was clean, and the staff were generally very pleasant (just not providing a suitable 4 star room).
We did attempt to use the pool/hot tub). It was a very nice looking facility, but the hot tub was luke warm.. and the pool was full of toddlers. This was ok with us, but then a couple entered the hot tub with their two children/toddlers (allowing them to try and swim in there .. very rude in my opinion... ) so we left after total 10 mins!
Location of the hotel is great, however there are many hotels downtown with just as good location! Location does not come in account for this hotel.
We have stayed in old hotels in the past, as well as stayed in this hotel in previous visit (which was better experience). Those other hotels had kept up with comfort, and were incredible overnight stays. I serious believe we were in the worst room in the hotel, but with that said this visit was NOT at 4 star experience.. if you are offered room 629, demand a different room!

PS. Do not attempt booking 4 star downtown hotel in Halifax on Priceline, as this is the likely provided this hotel experience! (second time booking downtown hotel in halifax... this hotel both times).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenEHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We want to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your most recent visit. We would like the opportunity to speak with you about your concerns and we encourage you to contact us directly to discuss in further detail.

In the future, should you have any issues while on property, we recommend contacting the Manager on Duty so we can ensure prompt follow-up. We want to assure you that this is not a typical Westin Nova Scotian experience.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    541
    311
    140
    82
See reviews for
327
612
108
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

It was my first visit to the hotel. I found the hotel and room to be very clean and up to date. The staff were very friendly and helpful. For business or vacation travel to Halifax the location was perfect. On my next visit to Halifax I will be staying at The Westin Nova Scotian.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roderi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your first stay at the hotel - we're delighted to hear we left an impression on your during your initial visit. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Halifax.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've stayed here twice, once was okay and the second time was disappointing. The room was booked for two people and there was only one bathrobe in the room...okay that might be a little picky, but a bit of forethought might have been nice. The room was worn out and in need of refurbishing, the bathroom, while adequate also tired and lacked some of the standard amenities like the complimentary body lotion. I forgot my thermos at the front desk at check in and when I returned to get it, it was already was gone. (Maybe they threw it out, I can't imagine someone stealing a used thermos!) The service was mediocre, they didn't seem pleased to have our return business, nor did they attempt to make any accomodation for the lack of amenities in the room or for our request to change our dinner reservations. (Granted it was a very busy weekend, by the look of the convention room bookings.) There wasn't one thing that happened during our stay that made this hotel stand out in any way. The only good thing I can say is that they have energy efficient lighting in the hallways. We won't be back.

Room Tip: You can get rooms that face the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danrobe2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We're disappointed to hear that we didn't meet and exceed your Westin expectations. We strive to provide a memorable experience and we want to apologize for not providing the experience we're known for.

We would like the opportunity to discuss your comments in further detail and would encourage you to contact our Front Office Manager. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a true Westin experience.

Best Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

It has been a while since I have stayed at the property, but I was pleasantly surprised at how well they have maintained this stately hotel.

The hotel was clean, newly appointed with a queen size bed, flat screen tv, easy connect media centre and Starbucks coffee!

The only negative was the rooms heating until was hard to control, no big issue I just opened the window a crack and all was good.

The beauty of this deal was I snagged up this stay for $69 USD on Priceline. I believe taxes in and taking into account the exchange is was approximately $92.00.

All in all a great property for the price!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We've completed many upgrades over the property including a new Fitness Centre, room updates, and a new restaurant. We're happy to hear you enjoy the updated amenities as much as we do!

We hope we have the pleasure to seeing you again when you return to Halifax.

Safe travels,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

First stay:January 2013- This was our first visit to the Westin and we found the parking to confusing and difficult to find. It was dark and not well lit. Checked in quickly as we were running late for a concert we had tickets to. Dropped luggage in the room and went to the concert. Upon our return I noticed what appeared to be ketchup on the duvet cover. I removed it and just slept with the sheet. We mentioned it on the way out for the day. The room was cleaned while we were out, fresh duvet covers etc. We took the kids to the pool, no towels in the pool area, also fitness equipment off to one side. Back in the room in the evening we noticed the bathroom mirror had one bulb burned out making it dim, and shampoo bottles and soap on the floor behind the sink. Minor issues but taken together not a pleasant experience. Then my son found a blister pack of pills in the bedside table. I was not impressed. Upon checkout the next morning I told the lady ant checkout and then she suggested I speak with a manager. He was apologetic and invited us back on our next trip to Halifax to make it right.

March 2013, After making reservations through Adam, we arrived and were quickly checked in and went to our room. The room was freshly cleaned and everything was as it should be. Before going out for supper we stopped at the front desk to inquire about Yuk Yuk's tickets. The man at the desk was very helpful and even called to get our name on the list to purchase tickets for that night. We took the kids to the pool several times during our 2 day stay. The pool area was clean and the towels were well stocked. Nice to see the fitness center completed on this visit. Overall a completely different experience from our first stay. We were impressed on both stays with the friendliness and helpfulness of the employees. Adam truly went out if his way to make sure our stay was the best it could be. We will be back.

I rated this 3 stars as the first stay was about a 2 and the second stay was a 5.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSNeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We're sorry to hear about the complications during your first stay; however, we're pleased to hear we were able to provide you with a true Westin Nova Scotian experience on your second visit.

Adam is a tremendous asset to our Westin family and we will be sure to share these kind comments with him. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another exceptional experience.

Best Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and wish we had stayed for none. We have not been back because of the poor service.
There was no blind on our bathroom window (had a plastic sheet over it that had fallen down). When we called down, it took over two hours for someone to come and look. Along with that, the tv didn't work and it took even longer to fix that issue. People would say they would call maintenance and they would be 'right up' well they didn't come right away and we had to call back numerous times.
Between the service and the tiny room, we decided we would stay elsewhere from now on. We never regretted our decision and haven't been back. I advise you to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcie3201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, Hotel Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Next time you are visiting Halifax and staying at the Westin Nova Scotian, please contact me directly ahead of time so we can ensure your stay is more pleasant than the last one in September.

Regards,
Raj Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Got a good deal for this hotel for a 2 night stay by bidding on Priceline. Location is very good, walking distance to lots of bars & restaurants downtown. Hotel is also attached to the train station/bus station and right next to NSLC (liquore store) and grocery store. Room and bathroom were very small and the view from the window was a brick wall and roof top.

Room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Bathroom was clean other than the toilet. Shower was not "heavenly" as described, very weak pressure.

The walls are either very thin or not well sound proofed because you can clearly hear not only sounds from the hallway but also from other rooms (no one was being particuarly loud, just normal coversation). This is a shame because the beds are comfy and the curtains do a really good job shutting out the light so it would make for a wonderful sleep other than the noise.

Staff were very friendly, common areas are very nice looking, modern and clean.

Others had noted the charge for parking, I opted to park at the grocery store next door 1 night and then moved my vehicle to the street parking (free on weekends) and didn't have any problems. I would probably be hesitant to leave my car at grocery store for a long stay as signs do indicate they will tow/ticket.

I was going to give this an average review but due to the location and the deals you can get through some websites, I think very good is a fair review.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and writing a review on your visit. We're happy you enjoyed our location, heavenly beds and most importantly, friendly staff.

We’re sorry to hear about your noise concerns. We have been undergoing upgrades and renovations to our heritage property and we appreciate your feedback as we are aware of such concerns.

We want to assure you that we're committed to working on these issues and have more upgrades scheduled over the next year. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Property: The Westin Nova Scotian
Address: 1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing