We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly beds!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Conquerall Mills, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Heavenly beds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

An excellent hotel in a very convenient location in downtown Halifax. We have always been graciously greeted on arrival, frequently up-graded, and made to feel very welcome. The pool is lovely and our grandchildren always love to come visit! The rooms are on the smallish side but spotlessly clean with comfortable furniture and the most heavenly beds! We always look forward to a return visit. The restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We're very happy to know that you consistently enjoy your time at the Westin Nova Scotian and that your grandchildren enjoy our pool! We hope to see you again soon for another memorable stay in Halifax.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    535
    307
    138
    80
See reviews for
323
606
106
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I booked my room via Hotwire. The front desk staff was very friendly and gave us a room upgrade. Room was a little dated (mainly the carpet and mismatched furniture) but very clean and the bed was heavenly. The hotel was very busy with an event but seem to have plenty of staff available for all guest. We enjoyed a delicious meal at their restaurant; Elements on Hollis. The whole experience was a pleasure and will definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We strive to provide memorable experiences for each guest and we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed a true Westin Nova Scotian stay. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our heritage hotel again soon.

Until then,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Residents of the HRM, we recently decided to enjoy a get a way in our own backyard and certainly glad we chose this hotel! Equipped with a spa on site and newly renovated state of the art gym - The 1 night stay at the Westin Nova Scotian was a fabulous treat and one I would recommend to locals and tourists alike. The heavenly bed made for a heavenly afternoon nap before dinner at the hotel's restaurant "Elements" - and our dog loved his nap on his heavenly pet bed! It's nice to see the old charm and character still remains throughout the hotel even through the continual upgrades. I wanted to write a letter just to use the original brass mail drop!! The stay at the hotel made the Sunday morning visit to the Farmer's Market very convenient - a walk across the street! I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel and I will definitely be back for another get a way in the near future!

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your mini-vacation at our hotel. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our heavenly beds, historical charm, friendly staff and dinner in the restaurant. You're right, our location downtown in the Halifax Seaport District is very convenient for market shopping!

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you, and your furry friend, back to the Westin Nova Scotian again soon for another rejuvenating stay.

Until next time,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have had the great pleasure of using the Westin NS as our choice location for conferences, meetings, romantic getaways and family fun. From start to finish it's perfect.

The staff are fantastic. The Food is amazing. The location is perfect. The history abounds.

You see (but never hear) the train station, you are a stones throw from the historic Pier 21, great eats across the road at the Farmers Market, micro brewery Garrison, board walk that leads into the downtown... I can't say enough about what the Westin NS has to offer.

When you add to this already amazing hotel facility with pool, workout room, Yuck Yuck's, restaurant, spa - you barely have to leave the hotel... but you do because of the beautiful harbor side location and vibrant downtown. And no matter how you spend your day I'm always ready to soak in the hot tub and then curl up in the "heavenly bed".

Room Tip: On fridays pick up a fan from the concierege... helps to increase the grey noise so that you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TylerHayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are happy to read that we exceed your expectations each time you stay at the Westin Nova Scotian. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review on your rejuvenating visits. We have shared your comments with our associates and team, and they were grateful for your kind words.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon, whether for business or pleasure.

Until next time,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great location. Super friendly staff (especially the valet guys!). Rooms were modern, but the bathroom was a tad small. The restaurant (Elements) has a good breakfast buffet with lots of options. Dinner menu was nice as well. Not your typical hotel food. Lobby bar had good snacks and friendly service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are delighted to hear that your stay met your expectations; it is what our associates strive for when delivering service to our guests. The Westin Nova Scotian's location is what differentiates us from other downtown Halifax hotels, and we are happy you enjoyed our location in the Seaport District. Thank you for taking the time to share you comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Until next time,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff at the Westin couldn't have been nicer. Right from Cassie checking us in at record speed to Jeff and his courteous, helpful manner our stay was a very pleasant one. I have just one downer and that was the bathroom was laid out a bit odd in that the sink was partially in the way of the tub....not a huge deal but it may be to someone else. The hotel was quiet and clean, the bed very comfortable so the " pros" outweigh that one "con"...Across the parking lot within walking distance is a huge grocery store and a liquor store..Also within the lobby itself at the hotel is a "corner store" which is reasonably stocked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Averil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We enjoy receiving feedback from our guests about their experiences at our hotel and we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We want to thank you for taking time to share these comments.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Westin Nova Scotian again soon.

Until next time,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved the room which overlooked McNab's Island. We didn'r realize that the outside parking was so expensive at $18, but that was our fault for not checking before hand.
Kudos to the staff who were all very friendly and approachable. I felt sorry for front desk staff as it was freezing cold in the lobby with the wind howling in the front doors. No one could even sit down to relax in the beautifully appointed area as it was so uncomfortably cold! The entire hallway as far down as the dining area was affected by the icy blasts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2NovaScotians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing this TripAdvisor review with us. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, beautiful harbour views, and pleasant staff. Thank you for the feedback, we will be sure to share your comments with our team.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you back to Halifax again soon.

Be well,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Property: The Westin Nova Scotian
Address: 1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing