We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Common areas are fine; rooms are tiny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Nova Scotian
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
330 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
“Common areas are fine; rooms are tiny”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed here for three nights during a 12-day trip in the Maritimes in which we stayed at 6 hotels for the road trip. This hotel had the smallest room of the properties in which we stayed. I'm an SPG Gold member, and presumably was therefore not given the worst rooms in the house, but the room I received was not only small, but faced the park rather than the harbor (even a 50:50 chance would have given me a harbor view!). The hotel is adjacent to the railway station, and next to the cruise ship terminal, so has a good location for those traveling by those methods. The parking lot is outdoors and without electrical plugs, so I don't know how that would work in the Canadian winters. I thought that the engine oil or antifreeze could freeze, but I must admit I know nothing of Canadian winters. It's a bit further (by about 500 meters) from the downtown action, but this isn't a big drawback (again, it might be more of a problem during the Canadian winters?).
I definitely have no complaints with respect to the handsome common areas, nor of the service. The swimming pool was rather small. The room was so small, though, that we had trouble finding a place to open our luggage. Think cruise ship cabin. Also, the A/C unit probably needs updating, and the double-paned windows had condensation between the two panes, making it difficult to see outside. Even the bathroom was tiny with barely room for one person.
I feel that this is an old property that needs some serious updating. It really didn't fit my idea of what a Westin should be, and I've stayed in a lot of Westins. So although nothing really went wrong with our stay, this was our most disappointing hotel. At least as SPG gold they comped our internet and parking. If you don't mind the tight quarters, you'll probably like the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We encourage our guests to provide feedback and we want to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for not meeting your Westin expectations. Our heritage hotel is one of the original railway hotels in Canada. Due to the history of our property, some of our rooms can be smaller than others. We are sorry you experienced a smaller room.

In regards to your concerns, we have invested millions in our property and continue to do so. Should you have any issues you'd wish to discuss in further detail, please contact our Front Office Manager and he would be happy to assist.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    541
    311
    140
    82
See reviews for
326
612
108
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

The stay was nothing special except for the service. I've worked in the service industry a long time and know when I see it done well.
The Bartender working in the lounge area was friendly and super helpful for someone wanting to see the charm in Halifax and not just send me to the regular tourist attractions. If you go to the lounge (food wasn't great, go to Elements if you want a decent meal) for a drink and you have the pleasure of being served by Maura you'll get over the fact that everything else was just average. She makes a great mojito too.
The other staff were great too, aside from location they would be the only reason I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheesyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are proud of our hospitality and we're happy you received quality service from our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Recently spent two nights at this hotel in Halifax. Gorgeous hotel lobby with large, clean rooms and fresh, modern bathrooms.
The best part of this hotel is the location - we found everything to be very walkable and enjoyed the market and waterfront boardwalk across the road!
I was kinda disappointed the WiFi wasn't free and that parking was $20 a day but it wouldn't keep me from staying there again! I also want to compliment the outstanding customer service AND housekeeping staff who were extremely professional (amazing job!) and very kind and accomodating when I was in need of an afternoon nap! ;)
A really nice hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We appreciate your feedback! We're happy you enjoyed our heritage hotel, our convenient location and our friendly staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Spacious, clean room and bathroom. Short walk to the harbourfront boardwalk. Noisy air conditioning wakened me a few times. You have to pay $10 a day for WiFi which I think should be part of the room price, given that it is not a cheap hotel. Even hotels at half the cost provide WiFi for their guests. I would give them another star if they included WiFi but this was a significant negative for me, feeling like a rip-off.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. We take pride in our historic hotel and we're happy you enjoyed staying at the Westin Nova Scotian. In regards to the internet, we do price shop the city regularly and find out wifi prices comparable to other downtown Halifax hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel regularly for nearly 8 months and I have always had a great experience. The staff is very attentive and quick to respond to your needs (once, I had forgotten toothpaste and the hotel had run out so the bellman ran to the store and purchased some, delivering the item soon after).

The location is ideal, with great views of the harbor and close enough to the center of the city to always feel like you're at a place to relax. With the farmer's market across the street and a waterside walk near many restaurants, it's tough to ask for a better spot to put a hotel.

At Roy's bar, named after the bartender who's spent his career tending there, you'll find a good martini, a selection of local beers and refined bar food to match. Local ingredients abound at elements as well with a very fairly priced wine list (Nova Scotia wines all at $25 per bottle) and well-executed food that is thoughtfully presented.

Parking is available and reasonable (other places in Halifax charge 20+ per night) in addition to the street parking nearby.

The gym has enough space for what's necessary and has well-maintained machines.

If you're a business traveler, please be sure to contact James Stephen - he'll be able to help you out with rooms and ensure you're taken care of.

On property, ask for Alan Hogan who'll be able to look after you during your stay.

There isn't another Halifax hotel I'd recommend.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the harbor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCTravelingTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stays with us. We take pride in our Maritime hospitality and we're pleased that your experience quality service in all parts of the hotel when visiting us. James, Alan and Roy are amongst many of our tremendous employees on the Westin team. We have shared your comments with them and they wanted to thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you back again at the Westin Nova Scotian.

Until next time,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge ON
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The room was just "ok" - getting a little tired looking. The carpets in the hallways could be replaced as they were looking a little worn. Overall, good place to stay. The windows actually open a little so you can get some fresh air in your room (11th floor city side). Beds are the usual Westin high standard and very comfortable. Overall a good place to stay if you want to explore the harbourfront area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing and rejuvenating visit at the Westin Nova Scotian. We appreciate your comments and we apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We have invested millions into renovations and continue to complete updates on our heritage hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We chose the Westin as we were were travelling onwards by train from the adjacent Via station (very convenient, as we had an unusually large amount of luggage). It's not the most central location, but downtown Halifax is quite compact and the Citadel, Historic Properties and many good bars and restaurants are all within easy walking distance, or short cab rides. We had a harbour view room, which was a nice bonus. The room had the expected great Westin king bed, but was otherwise a bit small and dated. Spotlessly clean and well equipped though. Every single member of staff that we dealt with (front desk, bellmen, bar staff) was very friendly, helpful and efficient. Great staff are definitely the making of any hotel, so top marks here. The Henry House and The Bicycle Thief are both close by and worth checking out for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgarybrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your experience. We are proud of historic city and we're delighted that you enjoyed our close proximity to everything downtown. Due to the history of our hotel, some of the rooms are a bit smaller than others and we apologize that you experienced a smaller room.

We hope to welcome you back to the Westin when you return to Halifax for another wonderful experience.

Safe travels,
Guido Kerpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nova Scotian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Property: The Westin Nova Scotian
Address: 1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
The Westin Nova Scotian Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing