We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

A good hotel recently (2014) taken over by management company ATLIFIC, the rooms are comfortable, some excellent refurbishment taking place. I deal location in the centre of town especially for access to the fort. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Corner rooms tend to be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Noelandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you NoelandRichard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,215 - 2,221 of 3,016 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

We always choose The Prince George when in Halifax. We count on and always receive exemplary service.Looking forward to our next visit! The staff always exceeds our expectations; amenities are superb!



Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edward And Joli... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

See you soon Edward and Joli...F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor. We had 2 adults, 1 child. It was very comfortable. It had 2 full bathrooms, which was fantastic. Plenty of space.

The only (minor) negatives: The bathroom off of the sitting room was newer, but the bathroom in the main bedroom was older and not renovated. Also, there doesn't seem to be a proper concierge, and this surprised me. We asked a few questions to the front desk staff, and most of the responses we got were "I'm not really sure but I can look it up online." The staff was very nice though.

The hotel is very nicely located, walking distance from many restaurants and from the waterfront. We paid for parking the first day, then moved the car and parked at a meter (free on weekends). We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

We have a wonderful Concierge named Andy radio77 - I wish you would have met him or any member of his team....... we get raving comments about our "Lobby Guys".... no you have me wondering where they were?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Prince George Hotel is a great place to stay for a visit to Halifax. It is centrally located between the waterfront and the Citadel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was nice. We did not eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Next time acedaughter check out our restaurants.... our food is pretty darn good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Location and service was 2nd to none - staff was friendly and helpful - everything was clean and accesible - location was close to all ammenities and was in walking distance of most areas of interest to us

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thanks Gordon J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hotel is undergoing a reno- lobby and Terrace restaurant are beautiful, but rooms still old and dated, bathroom has funny smell, so hoping the renovation is heading to the rooms next! Location is fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alexndra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Hi Alexndra H - a HUGE reno upstairs is mere weeks away...... things are arriving everyday and once we have everything it is going to be a tidal wave of renovation...... a tsunami of renovation! Oh my goodness we might change our name to Prince Renovation. Thank you very much for choosing us for your visit in Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 45 wedding anniversary with a trip to the Canadian Maritimes. This hotel was the first impression we had after landing at the airport and it was awesome! The nice gentleman at the desk that checked us in couldn't have been more welcoming with his sincere friendliness and expertise about the hotel and the city of Halifax. Our room was beautiful, very clean, with a great view toward the harbor. After using his suggestion to eat dinner (which was wonderful), we arrived back to our room to find a bottle of champagne, glasses, and a platter of special sweet treats with "Happy Anniversary" inscribed in chocolate on the platter with an anniversary card from the desk clerk. What a special way of welcoming us to the city and province. All of the people at the hotel were always pleasant and sincerely wanting us to feel welcome. Everything was top notch. The location of the hotel was within walking distance of most of the sites that we wanted to see. The bedding was extremely comfortable. I can't think of any hotel that has ever treated us better. We would definitely recommend it to all who come to visit Halifax.

Room Tip: Our room faced the harbor and we liked that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Happy Anniversary Ron868!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $169 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing