We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work and Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Prince George is conveniently located, has ample parking, friendly staff, and a great restaurant. This is the hotel of choice when my wife accompanies me on business trips to Halifax. She always hits the pool and I visit the nearby Goodlife Fitness Center for my workout.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

<Mental-Note> make sure David S from Antigonish always has his wife with him when he comes to YHZ so he stays with his family from the PG......hmmm how will we make this happen?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,480 - 2,486 of 3,058 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Restaurant could also offer a discount for members . The Westin does more than cater to those on a business expense account they also focus on weekend getaways. Thanks for the great two day stay while attending the conference.



  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank madartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for staying with us madartist - Your comments are timely because we are currently offering a special F&B package for our March Break guests and it might be something we do more often depending how things go. Thank you for letting us be your host.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I choose to stay at the Prince George annually for my Century 21 Awards Banquet. Regardless of the banquets being held in different hotel conference centers I believe there are none that provide the level of quality service that the Prince George has to offer. Thank you once again Prince George Hotel for making our stay the best.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you Patricia C - Go Gold!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. It was clean, beautifully decorated, and the rooms were very, very nice. It will be beautiful once the renovations in the lobby are complete. Room service was very fast, wake-up call was prompt, and the onsite restaurant, Gio, was lovely (the food was delicious). Overall, the service was above average.

I loved the location, just a few blocks from the harbor, however I didn't love the time of year (February - it was very cold). I would definitely go back to this hotel - no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you Sylvia K - Our Hotel provides a wayyyyy different experience in the spring, Summer and Fall because guests use our patio decks as a place to relax, eat, enjoy a drink, take in the beauty of our flower beds.... I know you would love the decks and I hope you get a chance to visit our awesome city (because that too is a different place when there isn't snow everywhere) when the weather is better. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Everything was great and I was impressed with the way my out of town friends raved about the location and the the bedding. The only bad part about the sleep was seeing the time on the clock and knowing you had to get up. Very comfortable. Best sleep in a long time!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We always have a bed waiting for you Thomas V - thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great place , great service, even thought they were under renovations.
I do recommend valet service as was great for the value
Brunch is the best in the city, always fresh and service is great.

Great place to be.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

I am a huge fan of our brunch too Joyce W & I believe it is one of our best kept secrets. I just wish I could exercise some control when I go there - lol. The carved items & sushi get me every time! Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Prince George. It is a very well looked after friendly hotel, with an extremely helpful staff. We spent most of our time at the pool area when we weren't in the room and enjoyed the family friendly facilities. Unfortunately our room was located near the elevator so it was a little noisy as guests returned from the night out. The room comfortable slept the four of us (2 double beds) and was clean and tidy. We could have done with some garbage bags in the cans to seal stinky diapers, and I could find no garbage facilities outside of the room to take the smelly contents. Overall we enjoyed the stay, we were comfortable and would return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Next time Ross B just give us a quick call and we will get rid of those smelly-ol-diapers (I don't miss those days - LOL) Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $146 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing