We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Best place to stay in Halifax. The service is excellent and the staff are very professional and friendly. The location is close to everything you may want to do; Theater, restaurants, Metro center, and pubs.



  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Best titled review ever Mike M - Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,499 - 2,505 of 3,057 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Price George is a fantastic Hotel. The location is great and the staff are amazing. The only real issue was parking. For the price we paid you one would expect parking to be included. I would have honestly felt better if the parking was just rolled into my room rate. We got one of the best rooms at the hotel and for the price we paid it was a bit annoying to have to pay a secondary parking fee....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

I hate paying for parking when I travel too Joe M so I know where you are coming from. We have quite a few costs associated with our parking and unfortunately this is a necessary evil for us almost all of the time. Sometimes we offer parking included in the rate and the very best place to see those deals is on our website directly. I am glad to know you otherwise enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Prince George is by far the superior hotel in Halifax. From the minute you pull your car up for valet parking you are greeted by the friendly staff. Even during renovations of their lobby, they have made a wonderful effort in a temporary Reception area and still making you feel like you are staying at the best hotel.
Everyone is all smiles and friendly, professional and helpful to anything you need.
The bellman was very helpful in making sure we had everything we needed when he escorted my group of ladies to our room. Asked if we needed help being shown how anything worked ... and without the lest bit of sarcasm, but total graciousness. :)
The room attendance were smiling as you walked the corridors. Always a pleasant greeting and when walking with an ice bucket were quick to ask if we knew where the Ice Machines were located.
I have stayed at the Prince George on many occasions .. both for business and personal .. both with friends and with family ... and each time it is a unique experience and never have a been disappointed.
Thank you for always making a home away from home feel just like that!
Cheers to you all.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice .. but there are some very quiet , private corner rooms that are just that much m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaps09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Loved reading your review zaps09 - (still laughing as I type actually). Thank you for your loyalty - we appreciate it more than you could ever know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Even though the Prince George is undergoing renovations the rooms are as clean and comfortable as ever, and the warm welcome from the staff, as well as their willingness to make every effort to be helpful, creates an atmosphere that exemplifies the high standards of Canadian hospitality. Superb location with an easy walk to all kinds of restaurants, shops, and museums, as well as the waterfront, makes this hotel a number one choice for Halifax. If you have any problems during your stay, ask for Stephen, the concierge -- he will lend a sympathetic ear and can make big problems seem small. - a great asset to a great hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

I am glad you got to meet Stephen palekh - most often when guests meet a staff member and connect like you obviously did with Stephen a bond is built and hopefully a long lasting relationship has been started. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

On New Years eve, me my wife and our two children stayed at this hotel.

The entire staff is first class. The room was quite large and had nice furniture. We chose a specific room, because we wanted to watch the fireworks at Parade square. This is the only hotel with a view of city hall.

The hotel has an awesome indoor pool (which my boys loved).

We ate breakfast in the restaurant, the service and food were great, they even made my sons pancakes in the shape of an elephant.

The valet parking was also a nice touch.

Mike
Halifax

Room Tip: This hotel is the only hotel in Halifax that you can see the fireworks at Parade square on New Years...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Team_Currie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

We will always have a room for "Team_Currie"..... see you next NYE or earlier (we hope).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We got married at the Prince George Hotel recently. A couple of months prior to the wedding, we were in touch Ms. Penny MacKinnon who is the Special Events Planner there. She was very helpful to us and went the extra mile for us. She answered all of our questions. On the day of the wedding, the staff were all friendly and helpful. They even congratulated us on our wedding.

There were many people who were helpful, but I didn't get all of their names. But there were 2 people whose name I do remember. There was one gentleman by the name of Yasir who took care of everything for us. He helped us in every step of the way. He works at the front desk. And during the dinner reception, a gentleman by the name of Shane was very helpful and made sure we were all taken care us. He would frequently asked if we needed anything.

All in all, it was a great experience for us at the Prince George. The complimentary suite that we got was clean, spacious and stylish. It also had a great view of the city.

We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayvee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

OK Kayvee1... let's start planning your 1 year anniversary party with us..... OK I am sure you haven't started thinking about that quite yet.... thanks for letting us be part of your special day. On behalf of Yazir & Shane thank you both very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Prince George in Halifax shortly after our wedding in the South Shore. This was our second time staying here and both times we felt like royalty. You never pass by someone without them smiling and saying hello. The rooms are modern and clean the pool facilities are top notch. The bathrobes at this hotel are the best I've ever seen. So soft! You can buy them if you want although they are pricey.

The location can't be beat. You are steps from the restaurants and nightlife on Argyle Street. I recommend Q Restaurant if you like BBQ or the Wooden Monkey if you want locally farmed and fresh food.

We parked in underground parking and I left the lights on. When we went to get the car and head to the airport the battery was dead and the car wouldn't start. The staff at the front desk had a booster park and jumped our car, saving us money for a tow truck!

We will definitely go back next time we are in Halifax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hopefully stay number 3 comes around very soon FIn M..... Thank you for the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $147 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing