We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is an exceptional hotel in a great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is an exceptional hotel in a great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have stayed at The Prince george at least 10 times and every stay has been exceptional. Their Sunday Brunch is great. Beyond that we once left our lights on in our car and the concierge happened to have portable battery to get our car up and running in minutes and we easily made our flight back to boston.

I don't think that this is a chain but if it were it would be a category killler.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baddeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
A "category killer" Baddeck? WOW thank YOU very, VERY much. Here's to hoping stay number 11 comes very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,837
    561
    159
    55
    44
See reviews for
506
989
109
772
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahone Bay NS
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday night for my daughters birthday celebration. I had booked two adjoining rooms ( the hotel told me they had to be as the girls are under 19 ) but they were unable to accommodate this upon check-in. They offered me two king rooms but I needed a king and two doubles. I was a little disappointed that I didn't get the adjoining rooms I had booked. The rest of the stay was great. The dessert platter, Shirley Temples and sparkling water in the room for the girls was a lovely touch. Thank you to those staff who helped the girls to have some fun with a couple of extra room deliveries!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allicat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
My apologies Allicat65 for the adjoining room request falling through on our part. There is a nice long story as to why this happened but then end result is we didn't deliver on your request and for that we are sorry. I hope your daughter had a wonderful birthday and it would be our pleasure to do it all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel was clean and very nice. The staff were skilled and polite. The room was large and had everything we needed. Frankly the whole visit was excellent! Check it out if you're in Halifax!

I did not try the breakfast or the attached restaurant because they are a bit upscale in terms of price, and it was more of a relaxing weekend around Halifax than it was a dress up and be fancy type visit. I also did not try the Spa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you Devin L - maybe on your next trip you give our breakfast a try - if you are here by chance over a Sunday I would highly recommend our brunch - it is absolutely terrific. Thanks again and we are always here for a little getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our stay at the Prince George was wonderful. The staff made it so. Always attentive. The concierge provided fabulous dining ideas, all walkable. Our spacious room had a view of the harbor, which was a bonus. And, perhaps because we booked 3 rooms, the reservationist sent up a wine and cheese/fruit tray up to our room. A "perk" we did not expect.

Liked their small gym, which was pretty typical of hotels, but it had changing rooms and a nice pool for doing laps. My wife and I used them every day. I would use the elliptical, followed by weights and then a few laps in the pool. These were necessary, as we were eating such good meals every night.

The location is outstanding, being up near the Citadel, making the gardens and shopping very accessible, plus Halifax is a very walkable city. Good food is 1.5 blocks away. No need to use the very expensive and slow service restaurant, Gio's, in the hotel. What we did eat was very good, however. It just wasn't any more outstanding than other places in town.

My overall bottom line ... stay at the Prince George. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room, 4th floor or above, if possible. Always try to get away from the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubaskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I wish you would have given GIO a try Scubaskier - the kitchen and service team take an immense amount of pride in making sure everyone who goes in there is well looked after and leave feeling special. Thank you for reviewing our hotel and I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you have not yet had the pleasure of visiting Halifax and it's surrounding beauty, put is on your list! We were recently in Halifax to attend BOMEX 2013 and had the pleasure of staying at the Prince George Hotel. Our first impression was very pleasant as we pulled up to the front entrance and parked so that we could quickly check in and go for a drive. We had booked and paid in advance taking advantage of an "early bird special". Check in was very fast and efficient and they offered to park our car if needed, should we not be down from our room within a reasonable time. The room was located on the sixth floor; it was very clean and they had provided some feather pillows, which we had requested in advance. As part of the special we had access to the "lounge" which was three rooms down from us. This "lounge" had a great expresso/latte/cappuccino machine, a fully stocked fridge, fruit and nuts and a great selection for breakfast. The staff that came in periodically to stock it and clean was very friendly and professional. The bed was very comfortable; internet was fast and the washroom was stocked with Aveda products.
unbeknownst to me, the conference we were going to at the WTCC was linked through a walkway below and our travel time there was less than 3 minutes.
Prince George also has a very nice outside patio area; swimming pool. The gym was not that large but had all one needs for a good workout away from home or your own gym.
All in all, this was a great place to stay and didn't break the bank to stay.
I highly recommend a trip to Peggy's Cove while you are there. It is only about a 40 minute drive but its serenity, colours and friendly people are absolutely gorgeous..

Room Tip: If possible, book an "early bird" special. It gets you the added value of access to the &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZapataCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you ZapataCO for choosing to stay with us. I am glad to know you enjoyed Halifax and our Hotel and we certainly hope your travels bring you back someday soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was a good hotel. they think they are a great hotel. The public spaces are nice. There were not robes, moisturizer or shower cap in the room. Breakfast is not included and the breakfast in the hotel dining room costs a fortune. The evening we were there, there was a pretentious bartender that we made fun of all evening. Not a bad hotel, but not near as good as they think they are

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princes110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi princes110. My apologies for any actions or comments that made you feel like we think we are all that. Creating an atmosphere like you describe is certainly not in our manual and not our intent. I hope we get a chance to prove that to you. I am glad to know you otherwise enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney traveller
Level Contributor
204 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Traditional (maybe read a little old fashioned), but solid in every respect.
Good size rooms with all the amenities needed. Perhaps bathroom a little small (compared to room).
Decor a little old fashioned and with no real individual personality, but very well maintained.
Excellent beds.
Free and fast internet (most of the time- a couple of slow downs which I will forgive!)
Ping 48ms Download 17.13 mps
Room service decent but not outstanding.
Fitness room with very little equipment and nice small swimming pool.
Excellent location. Soundproofing Ok.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
The word traditional isn't always old nathanwaks but rather "classic" - either way we appreciate your kind support and would be honuored to be your host again if your travels bring you back to YHZ - Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Property: Prince George Hotel
Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Orbitz so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing