We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kind of uppity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was a good hotel. they think they are a great hotel. The public spaces are nice. There were not robes, moisturizer or shower cap in the room. Breakfast is not included and the breakfast in the hotel dining room costs a fortune. The evening we were there, there was a pretentious bartender that we made fun of all evening. Not a bad hotel, but not near as good as they think they are

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princes110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi princes110. My apologies for any actions or comments that made you feel like we think we are all that. Creating an atmosphere like you describe is certainly not in our manual and not our intent. I hope we get a chance to prove that to you. I am glad to know you otherwise enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,973)
There are newer reviews for Prince George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,449 - 2,455 of 2,973 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Traditional (maybe read a little old fashioned), but solid in every respect.
Good size rooms with all the amenities needed. Perhaps bathroom a little small (compared to room).
Decor a little old fashioned and with no real individual personality, but very well maintained.
Excellent beds.
Free and fast internet (most of the time- a couple of slow downs which I will forgive!)
Ping 48ms Download 17.13 mps
Room service decent but not outstanding.
Fitness room with very little equipment and nice small swimming pool.
Excellent location. Soundproofing Ok.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

The word traditional isn't always old nathanwaks but rather "classic" - either way we appreciate your kind support and would be honuored to be your host again if your travels bring you back to YHZ - Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding here on August 17, 2013. I can't speak highly enough of the front-of-house staff, our site coordinator Penny MacKinnon, the catering staff, the valets and the restaurant staff.

Almost my entire wedding party traveled from outside of Canada, and they stayed at the Prince George as well. They really enjoyed the hotel and it's perfect location in the downtown area. My husband and I had a special suite on the sixth floor with a shower that felt bigger than my home bathroom, a hot tub, make-up table and all the amenities you'd expect in a high-end hotel. We slept very well, thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary breakfast available in the lounge, and everything was extremely well-handled. If I asked for anything during the set-up, it was handled straight away, and the Regency patio was a perfect spot for our intimate gathering (about 60 people).

Moving on to the FOOD. We chose to have a buffet dinner for the meal, and people are STILL talking about it. The choices seemed endless and the quality was absolutely stunning. I'm only mad that I couldn't fit more in while wearing my wedding dress! The ONLY complaint I had from any guest was that the plates were too small and they had to keep going up for more. :) The wait staff was impeccable and nearly invisible, and the bartender did a wonderful job keeping my guests happy!

When we picked up all the items from the wedding, it was all packed away carefully and so nothing would be damaged. We were even given complimentary bottles of water when we were waiting for them to bring the things out.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Prince George Hotel to anyone staying in Halifax. The hotel itself is beautiful (*especially with the renovations that have been happening!*), but the staff is it's most valuable asset. I look forward to staying at the Prince George again... perhaps we will make it an anniversary treat in the years to come.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Congrats MrsGad on a successful special day.... we love being part of weddings like yours. Our staff almost feel like they were invited to the party as opposed to working one. Do I hear a one year anniversary stay?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

To me it felt like it fit the atmosphere of being in Halifax. The hotel was a little old and dated with their marble entrance but it felt upscale at the same time. It was close to everything, the best part is the tunnel that led to the convention centre which let to the Scotia Bank Mall. It was raining and I was able to take a tunnel all the way to the port from my hotel.

Room Tip: If you need to go to the World Trade Centre this hotel is convenient for it's underground tunnel...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackpotJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

The green marble only has a few more months to live JackpotJ.... and then it will be gone. Our lobby renos are going to be awesome.....awesome..... awesome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Prince George is an excellent hotel, with a sharp and seasoned staff, that I would absolutely recommend to others and certainly return to when visiting Halifax. Located on Market Street, a couple blocks up from the busy harbor area, The Prince George is perfectly located to explore the city's attractive waterfront or the beautiful and historic Public Garden, a few blocks in the other direction. We enjoyed one dinner as Gio, the restaurant at The Prince George, and found food and service very good. We particularly enjoyed the charcuterie recommended by our server as a first course. Our breakfast, with the Crown Service on the sixth floor, was efficiently served by an attentive staff member each morning. With all of this said, I'll offer one additional  observation that should be taken neither positively nor negatively. In our room, imagining not knowing where I was, I could have been in any business oriented Marriott, Westin or name your brand.  Maybe that's the market The Prince George seeks. Maybe it's an issue of my own expectations. It's certainly not a negative and should not be interpreted by any reader as such. But a few features that would add more warmth and softness, things admittedly not always sought by the "Monday through Thursday" conference attendee with a couple devices strapped to his/her belt would be welcomed additions!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillMuldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Those differentiating features are coming BillMuldoon..... they are definitely coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a room on the 6th floor which included some extra amenities such as access to the lounge with complementary beverages and continental breakfast. We liked this as we are always stocking up on pop and water to have in the room but didn't have to search for a convenience store every time we wanted some drinks for the room. Also, the breakfast was really good, just cereal, croissants and fresh fruit but that was great for us. We had it delivered to the room which was nice. The staff were great. Very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I think the only downside to the property would be the parking. We deliberately waited to rent our car the day we were checking out as the parking fee was quite high when I first researched staying here. Not a big deal as we just rented a car from down the street and you can see most sights on foot anyways. The bed was comfy and the shower was really great! Clean and comfortable so overall, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yybgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you yybgal - glad you enjoyed our incredible city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The total package - attention to detail, fine staff, great location. You could not ask for a better combination. From the first time we walked in till check out - we were treated as royalty. Even dealing with reservations desk was easy for us as our plans changed three times. They were vere gracious and understanding. They really made this stay enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank wadleyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you very much wadleyfla - we appreciate your very kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $198 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing