We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
St. Peter's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is my second time staying here. The other time was only last month to attend a concert at the Metro Centre! Both times we had an excellent stay! Staff were friendly! The box breakfast was an excellent idea!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 875Laurie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Do I hear a third time 875Laurie1968? We hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    618
    174
    61
    50
See reviews for
590
1,070
121
841
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just stayed at The Prince George Hotel for three nights at the beginning of our Maritimes trip and three nights at the end. First the positives. This hotel in fantastically positioned for all that you would want to see in Halifax which is a lovely city. The staff with the exception of one receptionist and one concierge were really friendly and helpful.The room was very roomy and the bathroom shower etc very comfortable. The breakfasts were exceptionally brilliant and there was something for everyone and so cannot be faulted in any way.The public areas were very warm and had a comfortable feeling. Now for the negatives which spoilt an otherwise good experience. I think for the money that you pay to stay here that dressing gowns should be provided. We were travelling for three weeks in Nova Scotia so did not bring heavy weighing dressing gowns as we stayed in establishments that we would consider to provide these types of amenities ( the majority did ! ). We had valet parking for our car which mainly worked well except on the one occasion it took half an hour for our car to arrive resulting in a missed trip and on another occasion I received the keys for another guest's car! We also booked to dine in the Gio restaurant with the concierge but on checking this later found that we had not been booked in so they missed out on us eating there.My main grouse is that when paying my account I was charged for two breakfasts that we did not have. Also I payed my last account but when I got back to the UK found that the amount they claimed on my credit account had been increased. I would accept this if they would have the courtesy to answer my emails for an explanation. To date they have failed so to do so I have queried this with Amex who are being very helpful. So it was a lovely visit spoilt by very small annoying factors which all add up. I think that the Customer Service Department of this Hotel just need to tighten up on the little things and then will have an excellent hotel instead of a "very good average " hotel.
Terry & Jane Smart.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I wish the "niggles" didn't happen Terry S because we take a lot of pride in what we do and I think we would have gotten a much better grade from you if it weren't for those nuisances - my apologies - appreciate you reviewing the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I reserved an hotel on www.hotwire.com so the name of this hotel was disclosed only at the end of the booking process..What a surprise !!!
Rooms very comfortable and clean.. We were a group so they reserved two rooms connected to each other.
Breakfast is very good and the service is great. The waitresses are very very kind and attentive. We were pampered by them. They gave us suggestions about what to do in Halifax and attractions.

... But the star of the hotel was the restaurant Gio. Amazing food and unbelivable service.
We tasted the lunch menu on a sunday night and it was great. The restaurant has another menu for dinner but we did not have time to try it. As we were walking around and tired, We wanted to taste more local and simple food, so for my surprise the restaurant gave us a chance to taste the lunch menu during a weekday instead having more sofisticated menu. They just sympathize with our needs.. Amazing.. I hope you have a chance to meet Terry at Gios restaurant.What an adorable and professional person !

By the way the hotel is very well located.. Walking distance to all mainly attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you Luciana A . I am glad you tried our restaurant gio - did anyone tell you we are the only CAA/AAA 4 diamond hotel in Atlantic Canada that has a 4 diamond restaurant in it? (Shameless plug I know - lol but had the opportunity so I dove for it). We appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Three cheers for the hotel that puts makeup mirrors into what are usually very badly lit bathrooms. This one even had a magnifying lens on in...perfect for contact wearers. Clean, great location, great accommodating staff, comfortable...but it was about $50 more expensive than I would have priced it.

Room Tip: The rooms are almost identical between the fourth and sixth floor, the sixth floor is where they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nala335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us Nala335. I am glad to know you enjoyed your time with us. See you soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Prince George is in a good central location, handy for visiting The Citadel, the harbour and all the other attractions that Halifax has to offer. The staff were welcoming and helpful and informative over where to eat, what to do etc. We stayed twice at this hotel during our visit to the Maritimes, once at the beginning of the holiday for 4 nights and then at the end of our holiday for 3 nights. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the in room tea/coffee maker was most welcome. My only gripe would be the lack of breakfast included in the room rate but this seems to be the norm with North American hotels and is fast becoming the norm here in the UK. We did opt for Sunday brunch on our second visit to the Prince George, which we felt was good value for money - plenty of choice and well presented. All in all a pleasant experience staying here. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I love our Sunday Brunch MrsB30 and I am glad you did too. Thank you for mentioning it and for staying with us not once but twice on your Maritime adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Prince George many times over the last few years. The rooms are pretty average, however the service, pricing and location is Excellent! The staff are very friendly. The bathrooms are stocked with Aveda products. The lobby is beautiful. Gio is next door .. The Keg across the street .. and my fav restaurant in Halifax The Press Gang is right around the corner. Its an easy walk to down to the harbour. Also as an animal lover, this is also a dog friendly hotel. All in all I highly recommend. And we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyaRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Many thanks TonyaRenee for your continued support - see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location, friendly staff and a warm welcome. We stayed 2 nights and were very comfortable.
I do think it would be nice if breakfast was included in the price but this is my only issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Check our website direct Susan P prior to your next visit to YHZ - we almost always have terrific packages available that include meals, event tickets, parking etc. that add lots of value to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Property: Prince George Hotel
Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing