We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel in Downtown Halifax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Prince George Hotel has pleasant rooms in a relatively standard, but clean, pleasant setting. The hotel has a good breakfast, and nice staff, with $24 self parking downstairs in the garage. It's nothing amazing, but if you need a full service hotel, this is a very find place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jakklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for giving us a try jakklein....maybe we will see you again? We hope so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,663 - 2,669 of 3,130 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Was going to be in Halifax on a Friday and we decided to stay over, Called the Prince George Hotel and paid a little more and got the breakfast with the room, The room was on the top floor and was the top of the line. Good choice.

Room Tip: Top Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank air2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi air2011 and thank you for staying with us. I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to being your host on ALL visits to YHZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Prince George for one night on a recent business trip to Halifax. Check-in was fast and easy. The room was spacious and comfortable. I found that the iron in the room was defective, but a call to the front desk lead to that being replaced quickly. Room service breakfast was fast a tasty, and it was nice to wake up so close to The Citadel. I will definitely stay here on my next trip out east n

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basher22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you Basher22 and we hope that next trip is sometime very soon. We appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights and found the location of the hotel ideal. We walked all over downtown Halifax and spent a lot of time at the harbour area. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The beds were very comfy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bahodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Hi BaHodge - I am glad to know you enjoyed Halifax and our hotel. Watch your mail box if you are who I believe you are - lol. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. Hotel is beautiful, room with king size bed was very nice, very comfortable bed. Location is perfect- walking distance from everything you want to see and do. Pubs, restaurants, harbour, farmers market, stores etc.
We were told over the phone when booking that parking was $20+ per night but were never charged. We got a great deal through tripadvisor- would stay again for that price!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanger8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Hi Stanger8788 - I am glad you took us up on our TA deal....and as for the parking charge......Happy early Holidays? lol. Hopefully we can invite you back real soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I liked the location of the hotel, and check in was ok but more business like vs. vacation friendly. They do have suites which is nice for a family traveling with kids.The halls are very dark and the room furnishings are getting pretty worn looking. I would expect at least clean furnishings since it doesn't seem to be anything antique or special that it couldn't be reupholstered. I think I read they are going to do some updates soon. I agree with some other reviews - the noises from the hallways and other rooms especially when it comes to water running and bathrooms was an issue for me as I'm a light sleeper. Guess I am more of a Cape Breton fan vs. a city person, but if you are looking for the city experience the negatives might be ok since the location is close to all the recommended attractions plus many good bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairfaxko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our property fairfaxko and for staying with us while visit Halifax. It doesn't seem like you really enjoyed our hotel which is obviously not what we are striving so I hope we get a chance to welcome you back to show you an amazing stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days with 2 rooms on the crown floor. The Crown lounge is a great plus and includes a breakfast (with room service option). Our rooms had a nice view of the water front. There is construction outside, but didn't really bother us much. Warning, the beds are so comfortable you may not want to get up in the morning. Room was clean and very comfortable and include a mini fridge. The bathroom in the king room was fabulous. Pool was nice and always had fresh towels. Enjoyed our stay, there were no complaints at all. Only suggestion would be a microwave in the lounge area. Every staff member was very accommodating and friendly. It's great to be able to request the time for your housekeeping service. We had a bit of an issue with our reservation (needed adjoining rooms) but that was quickly taken care of in a prompt and courteous manner at check in. It's nice to be greeted when you enter the doors each time (even if you just walked to dinner). Lots of great restaurants within a short walking distance. The hilly walk back can be a bit much; but it makes you feel better about your desert with dinner. Tip; if you have an oversized vehicle it's worth the extra to valet it. Would definitely recommend this hotel, the customer service is top notch.

Room Tip: water front view on the crowne level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fletchfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott T, General Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hi fletchfam and thankl you very much for the detail you provided, your kind words and for staying with us. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
The Westin Nova Scotian
#15 of 28 in Halifax
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $127 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing