We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, NS Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A friend and I booked a room at the Prince George Hotel back in March to attend a friend’s Bachlorette party that was in downtown Halifax. Thanks to Hotwire we got another great deal. Everything was ok… but for being one of the better hotels in Halifax, I was a bit disappointed in the room – we booked the “Deluxe Guest Room”. Our room was ok… it was "average" and on the small side. The décor could have been more modern (I found it dark). I’m sure if we had upgraded to a better room (the Crown Service Room or the suites) the décor would have been much nicer. But since we weren’t planning on being in the room other than to sleep, we decided not to upgrade. It was ok for the price we paid, but for rates above $175/night I would expect more from an upscale hotel. The housekeeping could also have been better. When getting ready to leave the next day and doing the regular check around the room to make sure we didn’t leave any items behind, we found Smarties under both beds (we didn’t eat any Smarties, so we don’t know how long they had been there)!

On the plus side the location can’t be beat… you are in the heart of downtown Halifax and close to all restaurants and bars. The beds and pillows were clean comfortable, and it was great that there was a small fridge in the room to keep beverages or leftovers cold. Their hair and body products are really good too, left my hair feeling great. Instead of having small bottles like most hotels they have pumps in the shower so you always have enough. The pool, hot tub, and sauna are really nice too, it was great relaxing in them before checkout. Overall we had a good stay and I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobi234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks so much for writing such a detailed review - I really appreciate your comments. We are continuing to refurbish our property and there are some exciting changes ahead so I do hope you will stay with us again. Thanks for choosing The Prince George for your bachelorette party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,895
    582
    162
    57
    45
See reviews for
528
1,009
113
808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa canada
Level Contributor
366 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

First time I stayed here. Been to Halifax many times and used all of the downtown hotels. This is probably the best location. Close to everything and the walk is easier than climbing the hill all the time. The restaurant Gio is very good. Most hotels restaurants are not great, this one was surprising. The rooms were nice, good bed, free Internet, my main requirements. The staff was friendly. I would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are delighted to read your comments. We are very proud of our 4 Diamond restaurant, gio - so thanks for the mention! Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are decent and always clean. Nice location close to the Citadel (get the 5th floor on the west side). It's Halifax, so you are walking distance to almost anything a business traveller or tourist would do. Good food, decent service. Wifi is good and free.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank eric_yld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for the positive review! The Prince George is certainly central to everything Halifax! An exciting year for The Prince George as we continue to renovate and refurbish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for a week recently and The Price George quickly became comfortable like home. There is an excellent, really gourmet adjoining restaurant and even though the breakfast area was under construction, it was probably the most ship shape construction zone I have ever seen. I'm sure the carpenters must have been ship builders or something, you could see the way they were building was first rate, excellent materials, and so tidy. Pretty good gym and pool looked nice but was always full of kids. Obviously a great place to take a family. Friendly staff, really well soundproofed rooms -- in fact the big construction zone below could hardly be heard.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the huge construction project across the road because the rooms are really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hexakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
When you stay here for a week, you really get a good feel for the hotel! Wow - thanks for mentioning the "ship shape" construction ...just a few finishing touches and the room will be ready to go. The new Nova Centre site is right next door and we can't wait to see the final product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Staff makes this hotel the place to stay in Halifax. The front desk staff Alex and Pima are the best. At the end of a long day its nice to check in and find someone friendll and accomadating. Love staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalesGuyinCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Feels like home is the best compliment we can every receive. And thanks for your "shout outs" which have been passed along to Alex and Pema!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A very well-run property in a good location in Halifax. Close to the entrance to the Citadel and only a block away from the entertainment district, its very convenient and quiet to sleep. There is a nice restaurant that seems to be used a lot for banquets and special events. Parking was a breeze, plus its free on the street on the weekends or evenings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for the feedback and glad you appreciated our great location. We are centrally located in the downtown area but with easy access to surrounding buildings and the waterfront via a covered link - very useful when the weather is not cooperating! Our Four Diamond restaurant, Gio, does tend to be very popular for special events prior to Christmas; however, during the rest of the year, it is our very eclectic restaurant serving lunch, cocktails, dinner and everything in between, with the occasional private party (so reservations are always recommended).
Thanks again for your TripAdvisor feedback and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We came in to Halifax for a night out at the Dinner Theatre. The Prince George Hotel was an impressive building in a perfect location.
The rooms were very clean, the beds were super comfy and the Keurig coffee maker was an added bonus and much appreciated :o)
My biggest issue was with the parking. When we first arrived to check in, the person at the desk validated our parking ticket (which we assumed meant that it was free). When we checked out the next day, there was an additional charge of $20.00 on our bill, needless to say, we were NOT impressed!!!
,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dymondsnperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I was delighted to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay - thanks for the kind compliments. I do apologize that you were not made aware of the charge for parking. All of the downtown hotels charge for parking, although the charge is often "hidden" in a higher room rate. We offer packages throughout the year which include parking and\or breakfast in an all inclusive rate and I do hope that you will consider this in future. Apologies, once again, for the unexpected charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Property: Prince George Hotel
Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing