We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not spectacular” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince George Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but not spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I went on a shopping trip and a quiet get away. We were given a gift certificate for the Prince George so we took advantage of that. We were greeted promptly, and politely. Check in was quick. When we got to our room the key card wouldn't work. the girl at the desk promptly rectified the problem. Our room was on a lower floor so there was no real view, if you leaned to left you could see the water. Also being close to street level my wife was awakened by the late nite revelers at 3am when the bars in the area closed.

The room was nice a bit small, but clean and the bed was alright.

Any of the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: Higher floors remove you from the street noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Apologies that your TripAdvisor review has not been responded to until now. I do hope that you will return and I would be pleased to make a note to ensure you are allocated a room on a higher floor of the hotel - in fact, don't hesitate to contact our Reservations office directly and we will do our best to accommodate any and all requests. We'd love the opportunity to accommodate you again and leave you with a "spectacular" impression!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,837
    561
    159
    55
    44
See reviews for
506
989
109
772
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia,Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Prince George on November 9 . The hotel is lovely and their staff are very friendly . This was just a night downtown , we walked to Stayners Wharf for dinner , great atmosphere , great food, great entertainment . Our room was very nice , clean and comfortable , and the buffet breakfast was delicious . We will definitely return !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicey522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks for writing about us on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at the Prince George via Hotwire and would have to say this is the best hotel overall in Halifax. The central location puts you within easy walking distance of anywhere downtown and access to the indoor pedway provides shelter on those cold days. We upgraded to an executive suite and it was worth the extra dollars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTinaNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are delighted that HotWire chose our hotel for you! Thanks for writing such a positive review. We appreciate it greatly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Prince George for business November 14th to 17th, 2012. I have stayed in most of the Halifax downtown hotels multiple times, and also on the Dartmouth side. Leaving cost out of the equation, I would say the Prince George is my favourite. Actually, I thought the block booking rate they provided us for our event was more than reasonable.

First, this is a very nice facility. The layout of the lobby area is intimate but comfortable. There is a business center with three computers and a printer right off the lobby, which was very convenient for me. My room was large, well laid out and very comfortable. I had a roomy desk, nice dresser/TV stand, coffee nock and fridge, big closet with ironing board etc. available. Bathroom clean, modern, and convenient too. Everything in the room worked properly and I really did feel at home there.

The location is perfect for me, right in the heart of historic downtown and easy walking distance from my favourite shopping spots and attractions in Halifax. It is also connected to the extensive pedway network of downtown Halifax, which is one of the best features of this fascinating area.

Nice as the facility itself is, the most outstanding feature of this hotel is the staff. Without exception, they were knowledgable and willing to help the guests in any way, and gave the clear impression that they were glad to be working in this fine hotel. That really made my stresssful business trip go so much more smoothly, as I had no worries at all about any aspect of my hotel stay. Thanks so much to all the staff!

Note on parkiing; it's underground and pretty tight. I recommend that one make use of the valet parking service. They were very efficient and helpful with the vehicle, even to the extent of going to retrieve my coat out of the car and bringing it upstairs for me.

I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivacubafredericton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
What an excellent and detailed review. We really appreciate you taking the time.
Thanks - and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed here more times than I can count - and every time was a memorable experience. Old-world elegance with a modern touch, wonderfully appointed. Staff is professional, friendly and courteous - remembers our names and specific requirements. Rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. Breakfast buffet is well done. Centrally located and within walking distance to the waterfront, dining and shopping.

Room Tip: For a special treat, try 617!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whataplace12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Delighted to learn that The Prince George is your hotel of choice in Halifax! Thanks so much for continuing to stay with us and for the recommendation to try our new lounge on the Crown Floor - "Six-Seventeen". Hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Prince George is a fantastic hotel, with service and amenities that make it feel like a higher end hotel, but without the crazy room rates. Centrally located, it is easy to walk around downtown and it is also easily accessible by car, with underground parking (although it is a tight parking lot).

The restaurant and room service are great, they have a great pool and hot tub and the staff are very friendly. Rooms are very large, with modern furnishings, good televisions and modern bathrooms. I have family in Halifax and whenever we come to town we stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Very pleased to note that The Prince George is your "home away from home" when visiting family in Halifax. Thanks so much for the positive review. We appreciate it greatly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Prince George was within walking distance, to several pubs, bars and restaurants. It is also a short walk to the harbor, Citadel and a beautiful city garden/park. The rooms were spacious, clean with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good, we arrived a little late for breakfast but the staff accommodated us by still serving breakfast. We also had dinner at the restaurant in the Prince George is was very good, the dishes were delicious and unique. As well the concierge was very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niko1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We can't ask for more than that - no complaints! You're right - we are in a great location and surrounded by all the best attractions and venues. Thanks for the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Property: Prince George Hotel
Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing