We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had a room on exec floor which was clean, well decorated and comfortable. Continental breakfast was included in the rate and had an ok choice.
The hotel is located 2 mins from Citadel and within easy walking distance of town centre.
The staff were all really accomodating and friendly... would recommend this hotel and will stay there again on my next trip in a few weeks time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawasdee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

I really appreciate your kind comments and I'm delighted to learn that The Prince George has become your hotel of choice in Halifax. Look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,660 - 2,666 of 3,056 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

This lovely hotel downtown Halifax was a perfect place to explore the city and relax for a few days. The staff are fantastic, very friendly, helpful and sincere in every interaction that I encountered with them. The room was plush, comfortable and clean. I have stayed in several hotels in the area, but will now only stay at the Prince George going forward due to this exceptional few days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJaneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thanks so much for posting on TripAdvisor. We have a wonderful staff here at the hotel and we really appreciate your kind comments. Look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

You know how your first impression colours your stay? Well, our first impression was the parking garage...it's not very well signed and though the stairwells are scented pleasantly, they're a bit run down and leaky. That being said we were won over immediately by the exemplary service of the staff and the general room comfort. (Okay, confession time...I booked through one of the those "we don't tell you where it is until you've booked sites", but was pleased with the outcome. Upon arrival I found that my husband and I were booked for a two bed room instead of one king sized...but we purchased the upgrade to "crown level" that includes a whole pile of perks and we were still paying less than posted on a regular room.)

The room is very comfortable and has nice amenities (a walk in shower that is WAY better than the combination units, a comfortable and roomy sitting area and good space around the bed. (No awkward crowding that you sometimes find in hotes.) They have an excellent selection of breakfast items for the "continental" breakfast and a coffee system that allows you to have latte, cappucion etc of your choice.

The hotel is very well located to all the downtown Halifax attractions and we would definitely stay again, and pay happily, for the crown level rooms. The only downside was some children running amok in the hallways, but that's on the parents, not the hotel. The only other comment I have is that some of the painters (when the hotel did some upgrading) were a bit messy...there's paint in the sink and on the closet door know, but the rooms are certainly clean.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade to the Crown level, if you can afford it and for views, ask for rooms at the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danrobe2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

I was delighted to learn that you booked through a third party site - which led to a very positive stay with us! Thanks for the feedback and a great overview of our Crown Floor. Have noted your comments regarding "first impressions" with the parking garage...we do paint these areas annually but obviously they are subject to much wear and tear! Look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Traveling with a first class tour company and this hotel was not up to my previous experiences. Good location, clean put average at best service everywhere. Front desk ... Poor. Concierge ... Poor. Restaurant ... Acceptable but not great. Housekeeping ... Better. I would not pick this on my own.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocHarrisHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thanks for sharing your review of your hotel and I was sorry that we did not quite live up to your expectations - certainly not what we want to hear. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and very much regret that you were disappointed on this occasion. Hope you enjoyed your vacation overall and we appreciate your candid feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were booked here for a conference. Check in was fine, efficient, friendly, and professional and we settled in to our room. My spouse went down to the conference event and I remained in the room. When I turned on the heat, the fan was quite loud and squeally. I am not one who likes to complain, but it was rather annoying and just wouldn't settle down so I called the front desk and asked if someone could have a look at it.

The Concierge arrived within minutes and agreed that the fan was very loud and shouldn't be sounding that way but unfortunately there was no one from maintenance available until the next morning. He offered to have us moved to another similar room and I agreed.

he returned after a short time to help me gather our luggage. As he opened the door to the 'similar' room, he stated that it was refreshing to have a customer who gave feedback in a polite way and asked if the room would be suitable. The 'room' turned out to be a four room deluxe suite with a spa-like bathroom. This was an unexpected surprise and made a lasting impression. We have since been back several times and have told all our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

I was so glad to learn that the problem with the squeaky fan turned into a very positive hotel experience. Thanks so much for the review and I am delighted that The Prince George has become your hotel of choice in Halifax!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is extremely well located and has convenient parking. You are in the heart of the city and can walk to good restaurants. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable, however no view. We ate breakfast in the restaurant which was slightly expensive. Front desk staff were very friendly but not very helpful with information about restaurants other than their own.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABCDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thanks for the review and I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed The Prince George! We are surrounded by some excellent restaurants, pubs and other eating establishments and our Concierge team is always standing by to help with recommendations. Sorry that you did not get all the info you needed from the Front Desk on this occasion.

Very much hope that The Prince George will again be your hotel of choice on future trips to Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here in September while presenting at a conference. Location was good, halfway between the harbour and the citadel. Conference room was decent, breakfasts good, although the room rate seemed expensive at $200+ per night, even with a discount. No complaints, everything was clean and the view over the harbour was nice

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livetotravelcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Prince George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the TripAdvisor review. We really appreciate it! Room rates tend to be high in September in Halifax - but fluctuate throughout the year so always check our web-site for specials and packages and call our in-house
Reservations for the best rates. Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince George Hotel

Address: 1725 Market St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $147 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class hotel excellence in the heart of downtown Halifax. Experience the sophistication and charm of The Prince George Hotel, from the moment you arrive to the time you checkout, you'll love our Four Diamond service and impeccably appointed accommodations. Our 200+ stylish guestrooms and suites feature contemporary design and luxe amenities for an unparalleled hotel experience that will please even the most discerning of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince George Halifax
Hotel Prince George
Prince George Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing