We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance - Good Hotel for Business meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great ambiance - Good Hotel for Business meeting”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

was there for 2 meeting back to back. second meeting ended early and front office staff were super helpfull in helping me arrange early departure, taxi etc... bar lounge is very good. good microbrew beer, decent fares. Lobster roll is very decently prices. Overall good ambiance in hotel. meeting coffee break etc... were among the best we had recently. Room are well appointed and internet is free (it annoy me when this is charged...). on another stay a couple years ago i had a noisy corporate function next door.... but none of this this time! Barman should get an employee award for making client welcome and at home. Starbuck on site is also a plus. Room arewell appointed. Maid made all kind of sculpture with towels etc... nice... (I left a small gift... i hope she got it...). overall the right mix of luxury and friendlyness.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    434
    127
    42
    28
See reviews for
209
407
42
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel is somewhat dated (check out the carpets from when it was a casino...), that's true. The rooms are updated and the lobby is new. But it's also continues to be the best hotel in Halifax. The service is excellent. Just spent another couple of nights that and it's just top notch as a 4*. It's not a 5* hotel (and it doesn't pretend to be), but you won't find better service in Halifax. The rooms are very good, the location is excellent if you're working or visiting downtown, the restaurant exceeds expectations for typical hotel fare, the exercise room is well above average in this market, but it's the staff that distinguish the place. I hate noisy hotels, and having spent many, many nights there, the rooms are quiet.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WmFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hantsport
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Excellent and friendly staff, well cared for property, lovely hot tub and pool-just what I needed!
I walked along the waterfront to the Westin where my conference was held-about a 20 minutes stroll. Very central if you want to walk and enjoy downtown Halifax and close to the ferry to Dartmouth.

Room Tip: I got my room on Priceline.com for $80 Can.Beautiful waterfront location!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Visited Halifax April 13-16 for spring break (yes Spring Break) and stayed at the Marriott Harbourfront. We booked through Expedia. Great rate (part of air and hotel package) and the room was wonderful. Our room looked out onto the street, which was a great view, harbor views are extra. I actually prefer looking onto the vibrancy of the city than the water. The front desk staff was extremely curteous and helpful with directions, printing boarding passes, etc. We self-parked. Don't spend the extra 3 dollars on valet, the garage is very convenient. (Sorry valet guys, although you guys were awesome too!). Beds were super comfortable and the room was great. QUIET. There was a convention going on but these were professional adults so there was no rowdiness. The hotel really is right on the water. Just step outside and you can look across to Dartmouth. The tourist ferries were not open for the summer season yet. The location is great. We walked to the Citadel and every place we drove was a quick 10-15 minute drive. Plenty of eateries nearby too. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room either facing Water Street or the water/harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatTimeinHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

From start to finish my experience at the Harbourfront Marriott Hotel was amazing.
I ended up staying at the hotel because that is where the conference was being held and I am very happy that I stayed there.
The staff were amazing, housekeeping was friendly (even though I didn't use the service), the conference food was good and the restaurant was great, the location was superb and I would definitely return.
The only down side was that the room I stayed in, perhaps even the floor, had door locks that you had to slam to get to close properly, but other guests did not (different rooms and floors attending the same conference didn't have that problem so I think it was just the group on that floor)

Room Tip: The harbor-facing rooms have an amazing view if you have the opportunity to stay in one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Rooms are nice and clean. Located right on the Harbor front it is a lovely place to stay. The hotel is open and accommodating for a conference. The staff are what make this hotel stand out. Very helpful, always friendly and attentive, quite often anticipating a need or filling a request immediately with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Harbor view is better... as always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Just left a few days ago...extremely impressed with the service. ..especially our server Michelle in the lounge. Great sense of humor...just all around professional throughout the whole hotel..will most definitely stay again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,806 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

Property: Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Address: 1919 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#7 Family Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to Casino Nova Scotia by indoor skyway, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers a unique, modern, and chic space for guests to enjoy a stay in Halifax. Our Halifax hotel's restaurant, Harbourstone Sea Grill & Pour House - as well as our exquisite full-service Interlude Spa and spectacular views of the Halifax Harbour - make our hotel in Halifax a gem and a desired accommodation. At our Halifax, Nova Scotia hotel, you will be able to experience the best of Halifax from an ideal location. Your time in the city will be elevated while you stay with us, in our premier downtown location on the Harbour and close to everything business and vacation guests need. Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers luxurious hotel rooms and suites with picturesque views, plush bedding, and marble bathrooms. We provide Wi-Fi access, Starbucks® in our hotel lobby every morning, and other hotel perks including a 24-hour fitness facility and indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Halifax
Casino Hotel Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing