We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean and close to everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and close to everything.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a two day stay recently, a very nice hotel, pleasant staff and great food. The boardwalk runs behind the hotel and continues all the way to the cruise ship terminal, it is a beautiful walk with many places to sit and take in the scenery. If you walk most of the way you will come to the awesome farmers market.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the side, close to the back of the hotel. There are not many oceanview suites, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tricia939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We appreciate your comments, and we are so pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to really take in the beautiful Halifax waterfront and some of the local shops and scenery. We hope to see you again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    427
    126
    42
    28
See reviews for
207
404
42
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
244 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a very nice property on the harborfront and is centrally located to many nearby attractions. Clean & comfy. We were on an all-inclusive tour, so I am not sure of the cost. A breakfast buffet that you won't believe! Staff was very helpful. You can easily walk to shopping, attractions and the casino, or walk the harbor etc. They even fixed a to-go breakfast in an insulated pouch, for those of us leaving for the airport before the buffet was set out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphy5708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We are glad you had the chance to experience our amazing customer service and fantastic location. We hope to have the chance to see you again and host you brilliantly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay last weekend at this hotel. The young male employee at the front desk was very personable and eager to assist us. The room was spacious and clean. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the restaurant staff members, Lindsey and Sattina deserve a special mention for making my 5 year old son feel so welcomed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bluenosegirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Your comments mean so much to us, thank you! We do have some truly wonderful hosts here at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront, who are eager to make sure our guests are well taken care of. We are so glad two of our amazing restaurant staff were able to make your little boy feel so welcomed! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

upon arrival my rented SUV did not fit in the underground parking, the doorman immediately came over and told where to park. The newly renovated lobby is bright and modern. Front desk check in was a breeze and the room clean and updated. I did not have a chance to use the new hotel restaurant but did enjoy the gym which was very well appointed for a hotel gym.

Great location right on the water and perfect for pedestrians looking to explore Halifax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MADMAC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience during your stay with us here in Halifax. We will be looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here on our wedding night in July 2010. The room was gorgeous. It was so clean and the bed was very big and comfortable and the room also had a jacuzzi. They allowed us to bring in our friend who is a florist, to decorate it with rose petals. They also brought a very lovely breakfast to us in the morning. We stayed again on St. Patrick's day 2012 and I remember the comforter on the bed smelled like it was hung out on a closeline, it was great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyH1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for sharing your wonderful experiences at our Hotel! We love hearing feedback, and are delighted that you were so pleased with our clean, comfortable rooms and unbeatable quality of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel recently put a ton of money into their lobby and it's absolutely beautiful! Unfortunately the same can't be said for the outdated rooms... The service was decent all around but my room cards kept losing my room access. Cards weren't near my phone or anything, happened 4 times in 3 days. Location is good and hotel is worth the $170.00/nt when you can lock that in but tough to justify north of $200.00/nt. Also, concierge suite hours are a little inconvenient but I will probably stay again.

Room Tip: Haven't seen a good room yet... Average at best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review, and are sorry to hear about your room key issue. We will be investigating this further to ensure this does not happen again in the future, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stopped in for a solo meal after work this evening; the new restaurant looks much better than the old one, efficient and friendly service. Main course and biscuits were delicious- dessert needs improvement. I had the chocolate brownie; had I been blindfolded I would have thought the dessert would have been from a chain restaurant. Cloyingly sweet, the cake part was too dense, it seemed like it just came out of the fridge- was very hard in texture, should have been softer. It was sitting in a milk chocolate sauce; and the layers of the brownie were like milk chocolate icing that you'd find on a Sobey's cupcake. Dark chocolate layers with a bavarian cream in the middle- to soften up the texture a bit- and a raspberry coulis on the side to compensate for the sweetness, would greatly improve the concept. They comped the dessert though, so I left satisfied with the overall meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youpi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated restaurant harbourstone sea grill & pour house and are glad you enjoyed your main course. We apologize that you weren’t completely satisfied with your dessert. The head chef will be notified of this review, thank you for sharing your ideas on how it could have been improved!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

Property: Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Address: 1919 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#7 Family Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to Casino Nova Scotia by indoor skyway, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers a unique, modern, and chic space for guests to enjoy a stay in Halifax. Our Halifax hotel's restaurant, Harbourstone Sea Grill & Pour House - as well as our exquisite full-service Interlude Spa and spectacular views of the Halifax Harbour - make our hotel in Halifax a gem and a desired accommodation. At our Halifax, Nova Scotia hotel, you will be able to experience the best of Halifax from an ideal location. Your time in the city will be elevated while you stay with us, in our premier downtown location on the Harbour and close to everything business and vacation guests need. Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers luxurious hotel rooms and suites with picturesque views, plush bedding, and marble bathrooms. We provide Wi-Fi access, Starbucks® in our hotel lobby every morning, and other hotel perks including a 24-hour fitness facility and indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Halifax
Casino Hotel Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing