We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right in the middle of downtown Halifax!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel offers convenience and a great comfortable place to rest your head after a long day. I really enjoy staying at Marriott's and the Halifax Harbour Front Hotel is no exception.

We caught the shuttle bus from the airport (which is a great way to get from the airport to downtown) and the shuttle took us straight to our hotel. They also recognize this hotel as a pick up location as well, quite convenient. We checked in with no problems. There is a Starbucks in the lobby which is quite convenient for breakfast. There is also a skywalk that connects the hotel to various other buildings, including the Casino. Very very nice when it is raining, snowing, or just too cold to go outside.

Our room was beautiful, and overlooked part of the Halifax Harbour. It was very clean and spacious. Room service was fairly priced. Internet access cost an extra $15.95 a night, but this included unlimited local calls and unlimited long distance calls as well. We were not aware of this until we checked out, that was a nice little bonus since you have to pay for internet access in most hotels anyway. (Don't agree with that, but hey, we need internet right?)

The hotel is in a great location. Bars, restaurants, and tourist attractions are all within walking distance. The harbour front board-walk pretty much ends at the hotel side entrance. We took in some of the bar scenes at night and we felt very comfortable walking back to our hotel afterwards. The bar in the hotel was very lively and busy as well, they had a live band playing.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay. There was nothing bad I could say about this hotel. Beautiful spot, clean and a great location. You would be making a wise choice by staying here!

Room Tip: The hotel does not have many floors, but try to get on the highest floor for a better view. Also ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you so much. We are always so pleased to hear such wonderful feedback from our valued guests. We hope to see you again in the near future and surpass your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

913 - 919 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

Lovely property in a beautiful location.

I stayed here in October while on business. The room was lovely and the bed the best I have ever slept in - even better than home! I was tempted to go to bed at 5 p.m.

The food in the restaurant is very good, with a lovely view of the harbour.

Very nice gym, pool and hot tub.

The location is excellent, near to both the waterfront and the casino.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FireWife911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to see you again. Our beds are certainly fantastic! We just wanted to let you know that the same mattresses that we use in Marriott Hotels and Resorts all across the globe are also available for purchase on Marriott.com. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were at the Marriott for a weekend conference. The conference organizers suggested we book our room at the hotel, so I did, but in retrospect I wish I had done a little more research before I booked the room.

The staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful, but we were disappointed with our room. It seemed pretty basic and there was no fridge. There were a couple items in the bathroom, lack of a grab bar on the side wall of the tub (there was one on the outside of the front wall) and some slight evidence of mold on the ceiling as well a some pealing and cracking caulking around the shower ceiling. The ceiling in the main room had some funny looking areas of discoloration as well above the bed area. Our room was located across the hall from a service room, and also looked to have a door that would go to the adjacent room, perhaps to create a suite for a family staying together. Anyway, sound seemed to travel easily through the door, especially in the middle of the night.

Most hotels I book include a breakfast in the rate, but that wasn't the case here. The only good thing is this lead us to discover Anna's Cafe and Grill just down the street who serve up a delightful home-style breakfast.

Room Tip: We were in 421
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We appreciate your feedback, and are sorry that our room did not meet your expectations. We are investigating the problems that you encountered with the shower ceiling in that particular room. We pride ourselves on excellent guest service and would have welcomed the opportunity to make you feel more comfortable with your room. We do have mini-fridges available at no cost, and would have been delighted to deliver one to you upon your request. We are glad you were able to take advantage of one of Halifax’s local restaurants during your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I recently went to this hotel for a fundraiser event in one of the ballrooms. Although I did not plan the event at all (so I can't comment on cost, etc.) it was very well done. The food was great. I have food issues and called the hotel the night before and they made sure my meal was perfect.

The room was great, bright, clean. Mine was a room with one queen bed. I did see a colleague's room with two queen beds and the floor plan seemed quite crowded.

There is a Starbucks on the lobby floor which was very handy. The hotel is right in the downtown and very close to many services. My only regret is that I didn't take advantage of the spa! Next time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMcD1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments; we are delighted that you were so impressed with the Fundraising Event that you attended. Our spa is definitely an on site amenity that you should take full advantage of during your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

As we arrived at the hotel entrance, we were greeted by hotel staff dressed in Scottish kilts and felt like we were in a little part of Scotland. The check in was quick and easy and we were shown up to our room which disappointingly only had a side view of the harbour (more of a view of the building next door). The hotel breakfast room had a good view of the harbour and was open for dinners as well, but this did not seem to be well patronised. I am not sure why as I had a lovely lobster dish at a much reduced price compared with a restaurant down the road. We had sundowners in the bar each evening and the bar staff were friendly and attentive. Outside the hotel there is a harbour front walk, where one can find a variety of other restaurants to dine at. It is a short walk to the tour bus departure point for all the tours. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you request a harbour view, it would be a good idea to ensure it is a full front view and not a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We appreciate your feedback, thank you! We are currently undergoing renovations where we are reconstructing our main level entirely, so our two main food and beverage outlets (44 North and the Fife&Drum Pub) will be combined into one restaurant in the centre of the lobby which will attract much more business. We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our one of a kind Harbourfront location! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Is it because it is in the downtown core? Closer to the historic properties, short walking distance to the Atlantic Banking Capital of Canada? Or the waterfront location, literally wrapped on three sides (well maybe 50%to be more accurate) by the boardwalk? The perfect cleanliness (I've been looking for dust bunnies all week lol), like new finishings, comfortable beds (my wife and I both have back issues and love the bed) swimming pool , hot hot-tub, nicely equipped fitness centre, HD TV's decent water pressure in the shower? No, for us it was that we were engaged on the boardwalk just behind the hotel that gives this place an unfair advantage for us. But make no mistake, we wouldn't be returning if it weren't what we feel is the best hotel by far in Halifax! To be fair, we haven't stayed at the others but this is easily the best location. With Halifax's high restaurant per capita ratio, there is no problem walking to a different restaurant each meal within 5 mins. 10 mins would bring you to countless more (well I think I tripadvisor lists something like 436). My biggest complaint is no in-room fridge. Have to do the ice machine dance a couple times a day to keep cold beverages available but we survive. Did I mention that the hotel is connected to the Casino (with a fantastic $19.99 lobster special in the late summer months, 2011, 2012 at
least) and the nearby Scotia Square Mall by enclosed elevated walkways? Very hasn't as our current visit is in the offseason and it is 3 degrees and raining today. Polite and courteous staff add to the rating. There is even an on-site car rental but we didn't use them. We tried the breakfast buffet at the 44 North restaurant located in the hotel and it was excellent (loved getting chocolate milk included) but at $20 it's a little much for breakfast. The doors to the hallway seem to be non existent when it comes to hallway noise but we didn't encounter much more than people chatting on the way to and from their rooms. Some louder than others of course. I realize its the convenience of the location but still. Feel free to send me any questions. I'd be glad to offer any help I can!

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room. They have a $30/day surcharge for water view but you just don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your story with us, it is always so nice to hear about other people’s wonderful memories. We are thrilled that our Hotel meets your expectations in nearly every way. As for the in room fridge, that can easily be arranged for you. The next time you stay with us, all you have to do is press zero on your phone and request a fridge. We normally have them available and they are free of charge. You could even prearrange a fridge by requesting one when you make your reservation! Thanks again for leaving your comments; we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

this hotel is about to udergo renovatoins and I have to believe that many of the employees are due for a lay off - because their attention is just not there. The bar people all grouped together to talk and came to serve when beckoned but never stopped to talk to clients. As well, checkout couldn't see to be rid of me

And the coils are coming out of the mattress in the room, the windows will not latch shut - renos are long overdue

Room Tip: not a winter destination - the casino that is attached is all but shut down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petewanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

We appreciate your feedback, and are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We rank customer service as our number one priority, and always ensure our associates have all of the proper training in place to see that this expectation is met. We will see to it that this issue is further investigated so that it does not happen again. Thank you again for your comments.

In regards to our upcoming renovations, we are pleased to announce that we are undergoing a large renovation of $5M which will allow us to present a refreshed, chic and new Great Room concept. In addition, we will have a new restaurant, Harbourstone sea grill & pour house, both of which will provide our guests a brand new experience at our hotel in the spring of 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,015 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

Address: 1919 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#7 Family Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $164 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to Casino Nova Scotia by indoor skyway, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers a unique, modern, and chic space for guests to enjoy a stay in Halifax. Our Halifax hotel's restaurant, Harbourstone Sea Grill & Pour House - as well as our exquisite full-service Interlude Spa and spectacular views of the Halifax Harbour - make our hotel in Halifax a gem and a desired accommodation. At our Halifax, Nova Scotia hotel, you will be able to experience the best of Halifax from an ideal location. Your time in the city will be elevated while you stay with us, in our premier downtown location on the Harbour and close to everything business and vacation guests need. Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers luxurious hotel rooms and suites with picturesque views, plush bedding, and marble bathrooms. We provide Wi-Fi access, Starbucks® in our hotel lobby every morning, and other hotel perks including a 24-hour fitness facility and indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Halifax
Casino Hotel Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing