We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

i am in my 50's and travel extensively.i just stayed in 332 on oct.13.my 90 year old mother wanted to stay here and go to the casino for her bday.i booked online and paid extra to stay at this hotel for convenience.i phoned the hotel to request 2 bed wheelchair accessible.got there no such room available.anyway the elevator broke down and my mom had to stand for at least 35 minutes.we got off the elevator and she was so exhausted she couldn't go to the casino.the night manager made a silly joke about us being stranded,no apology no nothing.our long awaited night of fun was ruined.next time have some consideration we weren't a bunch of teenagers who might of found the whole experience exciting.you could have reached out but i was embarassed for your lack of empathy and professionalism.shame on you

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we are very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. It is important for us to receive feedback when our service has been less than acceptable as it provides us an opportunity for training and improvement. We strive to take great care of all our guests and we certainly take your comments very seriously. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    453
    130
    44
    30
See reviews for
221
430
42
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our first stop on our East Coast tour has Halifax. When presented with the option I always stay at a Marriot. The Harbour Front Marriot specifically had the best view, obviously the Harbour, but was also located on the wharf where the tourist shops and pubs are located. Being able to walk quickly to everywhere saved time and money on cabs. The room was as good as the name suggests. The breakfast buffet is a delicious way to start any travel day. The check in/out was quick and courteous. The only issue that detracted from the hotel was the high cost of parking onsite. Aside from that a fantastic hotel in Halifax.

Room Tip: Pay for the Harbour view room, worth it as the sun sets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aduffy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We thank you for giving us your feedback. Marriott is indeed a trusted brand, and we are thrilled that our property was able to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The is an excellent property with a great view of the Halifax Harbor. This was our 1st time in Halifax and we walked to the hotel after a 24 hr train ride from Montreal.

It rained some while we were there, but being right on the harbor the walks to the Musuem of the Atlantic and Salty's were short.

In the morning the rain stopped long enough to get in a nice hike before beginning our driving tour of Nova Scotia, Cape Breten & PEI. A marvelous time!!

Room Tip: Pick the Harbor View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank none202011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are delighted that you had an opportunity to see some of the Maritimes! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott for our 28th Wedding Anniversary........ OMG the service we received was amazing, The staff was extremely accomadating, they provided us with a beautiful room overlooking the Harbour, then sent us Wine & Chocolates ( on the house ) and a beautiful Card, We were so surprised that they took the time and effort to acknowledge our special occassion.We have stayed here before and for good reason, Clean, Quite, and the Location cannot be beat !!!! as well as the "SERVICE" Top notch......... Keep up the Excellent Work !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisterhopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront. It is all about taking care of our Guests. Wishing you a Happy Anniversary and all the best in the years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Two day stay,tail end of tour,great location,assigned room 253,could not locate,staff at front desk,take north elevator,no room 253,return to front desk,take south elevator, no luck,other tour member guides us to room.Room had 2 full size beds,not acceptable,wi-fi-$15.95 a day, insane in todays market with standard room rate +/- $200 a nite,breakfest buffet included,had guest join us at breakfest buffet $19.95+tax 15%+tip........Dinner at 44 North, superb, charged to room
three charges appear on c.c. from hotel........a $100 authorization to check if c.c. is bonafide,front
desk did not advise us of there policy
two dinner charges,have hotel statement shows zero balance...one charge unresolved thru today
Bottom line............pass on this hotel......many other fine hotels in Halifax waterfront location

Room Tip: Upper floors in back have view of harbour Stuart and Hil South Florida
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STUART C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments, and are happy you found the food so delightful at our restaurant 44 North. We apologize for any miscommunication regarding room type and credit card charges. Our highly trained associates take pride in ensuring guest satisfaction and will always do whatever possible to ensure that troubles are corrected. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

On two trips to Halifax we staid once at the Cambridge downtown and once at the Marriott Harbourfront. In terms of brightness, cleanliness, optimal location for tourist activities you can't beat the Marriott. The front desk personnel at both hotels were pleasant and helpful but the Cambridge is dreary whereas the Marriott is cheery.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nephrodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for leaving your comments! We are glad you were satisfied with our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 4 years ago and happily returned last week. It's in a great location. The room was very nicely decorated. The bed was super comfortable. The gym was great.

My flight was in early and I just expected to check my bags when arriving. As it turned out they had a room for me. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK_Sun_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We pride ourselves on excellent guest service and will go the extra mile whenever possible to ensure out guests are happy and comfortable. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,917 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

Property: Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Address: 1919 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#7 Family Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to Casino Nova Scotia by indoor skyway, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers a unique, modern, and chic space for guests to enjoy a stay in Halifax. Our Halifax hotel's restaurant, Harbourstone Sea Grill & Pour House - as well as our exquisite full-service Interlude Spa and spectacular views of the Halifax Harbour - make our hotel in Halifax a gem and a desired accommodation. At our Halifax, Nova Scotia hotel, you will be able to experience the best of Halifax from an ideal location. Your time in the city will be elevated while you stay with us, in our premier downtown location on the Harbour and close to everything business and vacation guests need. Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers luxurious hotel rooms and suites with picturesque views, plush bedding, and marble bathrooms. We provide Wi-Fi access, Starbucks® in our hotel lobby every morning, and other hotel perks including a 24-hour fitness facility and indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Halifax
Casino Hotel Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing