We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Wellesley, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I've stayed at the Marriott a few times on business, and have never written a review until now. I stay at the Halifax Marriott on business as it is a great downtown/habourfront location. It is within easy walking distance to all of the harbourfront attractions and many great restaurants.
The hotel itself is about a low 4; it is a low rise 2 tower hotel that has been renovated. The rooms are a good size, but because it is a low rise hotel, don't expect that great of a view.
During my recent stay in mid-March, it was a comedy of errors with the room key. The front desk couldn't program my key to allow me access to both the concierge lounge and my room; it was one or the other. Since I needed my room, I gave up on the lounge, even though it was included in the room rate. The front staff was apologetic, but didn't go out of their way to accommodate me. The service overall is very good, including valet and room service.
The pub inside the hotel is a great spot to grab a drink after a long working day and has pub snacks.
I will be staying at the Marriott again; my company gets great rates and I love the location, especially if I'm traveling alone.

Room Tip: high floor in highest tower (can't remember which direction that is)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h20andsunlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    421
    126
    41
    28
See reviews for
206
402
41
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

The location is second to none. Right in the heart of downtown - if you intend on enjoying the local night life the Mariott is ideal to stay. I got the room off Priceline for a fraction of the cost. The lobby, hallways, and rooms had an excellent decor - very up to date, classy place to stay. Pool was spectacular, and the weight room was sufficient for any type of workout.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

This Marriot has set a new standard for my hotel expectations. On three occasions the staff went well above expected to make my stay more comfortable. The guest rooms are fresh, clean and nicely appointed. The conference facilities are excellent too - nice views of the harbour, modern decor, new furniture and linens. Their conference coordinator was also very attentive and met every need quickly and to a high standard. I will absolutely stay here again on my next visit to Halifax.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is really a very good hotel. They have amazing staff, good facilities including a great workout room and pool. It is very family friendly and was great for our event. It is right downtown and in the Casino property (but separate) if you want to go or not. Staff was amazing and the food was very good. I recommend highly.

Room Tip: Anything facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halifaxfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
354 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location, attached to the pedways that can get you to all kinds of places downtown Halifax (Casino, Metro Centre, World Trade & Convention centre, etc.) and has a fantastic view of the ocean since it sits right on it. It is within walking distance to many restaurants and entertainment facilities. The hotel itself is only ok in my opinion. Check in is usually fast, and the rooms are decent. Last time we stayed here it was right after Christmas and the hotel was empty so the girl at the front upgraded us to a corner room that had 2 big windows overlooking the harbour and that was the best room we have ever had here, most rooms are plain and nothing special. Make sure you put a "do not disturb" sign on your door, as last time we forgot we had housekeeping knocking at our door at 8 am, and then again at 8:30..and then again at 9. The restaurant in the hotel is way overpriced, you are better off going outside and walking to one of the other restaurants around the area. Parking is $20 a night which isn't too bad. Overall the hotel is only average, but is one of the better hotels to stay in while in Halifax.

Room Tip: Ask for a corver room facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda8925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
259 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel has probably one of the very best locations in downtown Halifax. It's connected via pedways to all sorts of shopping, the casino, heritage properties etc. Spacious, well-designed, up-to-date common lobbies, mezzanine and meeting rooms. The rooms themselves were clean, beds comfortable, and good showers in the bathrooms. Two lamentable flaws - wireless is not included and there was no fridge in the room. A little pricey with the add-ons at times, but still very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you do not like rooms that open onto or face an indoor pool, play area, or gym - be sure to speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buchans79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Okay it is a bit pricey and you have to pay extra for parking....but other than that they nailed it. Close to all the waterfront fun that is essential when in Halifax (pier, casino, lower deck, pubs, spa) and all the amenities one desires. Great job.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrekman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

Property: Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Address: 1919 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#7 Family Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to Casino Nova Scotia by indoor skyway, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers a unique, modern, and chic space for guests to enjoy a stay in Halifax. Our Halifax hotel's restaurant, Harbourstone Sea Grill & Pour House - as well as our exquisite full-service Interlude Spa and spectacular views of the Halifax Harbour - make our hotel in Halifax a gem and a desired accommodation. At our Halifax, Nova Scotia hotel, you will be able to experience the best of Halifax from an ideal location. Your time in the city will be elevated while you stay with us, in our premier downtown location on the Harbour and close to everything business and vacation guests need. Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel offers luxurious hotel rooms and suites with picturesque views, plush bedding, and marble bathrooms. We provide Wi-Fi access, Starbucks® in our hotel lobby every morning, and other hotel perks including a 24-hour fitness facility and indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Halifax
Casino Hotel Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing