We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful! Don't miss!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point Pleasant Park

Point Pleasant Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.11*
and up
Halifax Dinner Cruise
Ranked #5 of 134 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Have a picnic with sweeping ocean views or hike through 186 acres of forest in one of Halifax's most cherished parks.
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Don't miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We didn't know about this park until a helpful staff member at I Heart Bikes recommended we head there. We rode our bikes around the trails (a little hilly!), and we enjoyed the vistas at Black Rock Beach. Make sure to visit this park when in Halifax.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCmetrodogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    170
    32
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely views of the sea as you wander around the Naval monuments. I was looking for a particular monument to see a relatives name but unfortunately it was under renovation and I could not see it. Very nice park to walk around or just sit and read and take in the views.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joaniemelonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for the whole family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Growing up in Halifax we used to frequent the park on the weekends and when coming back for a visit it was on my to-do list so that my daughter could experience it. The park is huge, when entering from the ferry terminal side you start by black rock beach which has lifeguards to keep an eye on the kids. The trails along the water offer a beautiful view of the harbour. There are lots of picnic benches and general benches dotted along the way. There are large open grassy areas right on the water which are great for a game of frisbee. I like that the park has some history behind it from the anchor which I believe honours soldiers who died at sea to the old fortress type building that would have been used to watch for enemies coming into the harbour. Damage from hurricane Juan can still be seen but they did a great job ensuring that the park was returned to the way people love it. A great park to spend a few hours in enjoying the outdoors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennLynn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

A hidden gem in the city. Excellent water views, great paths for walking and hiking. Bring a picnic and enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlDeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful but beware of dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This park is fantastic--great running paths with decent hills, nice picnic benches overlooking the harbour--my only complaint is the dogs. I love dogs, but too many are allowed to roam free and the owners seem to think its ok if they jump on everyone in their path. Over the course of 4 weeks this happen again and again. I even saw frightened toddlers surrounded by very friendly dogs who meant no harm but really should be on leads.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jurong_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Pleasant Park also viewed

 

Been to Point Pleasant Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing