We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience.”

Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21
Ranked #6 of 138 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Plan a visit to this national testament to the Canadian immigration experience, which pays tribute to the citizens of Canada who have enriched this culturally diverse country. The Museum showcases the vast contributions of newcomers to Canada's culture, economy and way of life, from past to present day, see how Canada is shaped by the world in experiential ways.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What an experience.”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A must see for anyone who has/had family who entered Canada through the port of Halifax. If you have any documents from that time bring them with you. They love being able to photo copy and file old documents. If you identify the ship that your family came over on they will provide you with a picture of that ship and any other documents/info that has been filed under that ships voyages. Really really neat stuff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadWeary2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    368
    102
    22
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent view of immigration in Canada”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good exhibits. Touching movie that is a must see. Artifacts are on display. Good view of the harbor from the glassed front of the building.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Found records”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Super spot to trace your ancestors. Really helpful staff willing to really dig for the info. Great presentations in the rail car by immigrants. Really enjoyed the short film. Anxious to see what the renovations produce.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A nice glimpse into history”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This site has had a lot of work done to it and is a nice site to learn some history. The fee is worth it and not that expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank swb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for the Family!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We visited Halifax in July of 2009 and loved the Museum of Immigration. My father immigrated to Pier 21 in 1957 from Italy, and it was fascinating for myself, my sisters and my mother to see how it all worked and what my father and his family went through to get to Canada. It was also fascinating for my father as he was just a baby when they immigrated. It was really fun and super informative, and we loved stamping our passports as we went through the steps of immigrating!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 also viewed

 

Been to Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing