We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect.”

Maritime Museum of the Atlantic
Ranked #7 of 138 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Immerse yourself in the rich marine history depicted by this museum's vast collection from binnacles and buoys to anchors and armaments.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What you would expect.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I'm from Halifax and visited the museum for the first time since I was a youngster. I must say, alot of the stuff that was there was just like I remember it being years ago. I did like the addition of the titanic display. It always amazes me the hours it would have taken someone to make the "to scale model boats". All in all, just ok- coming from a local. I would recommend for the visitors to our province to take in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Itching2Travel_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,084
    768
    185
    27
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Just the right size”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a wonderful museum on the Halifax waterfront. There is a lot of interesting information on shipwrecks, the Titanic, the Halifax Explosion and the history of sailing and shipbuilding. There are full size ships on display. The staff are very friendly and the museum is well laid out. I find that the facility is just the right size for a visit - large enough with enough displays to make it worth the visit but not so big as to take up a whole day to see everything. And the price of admission is very cheap!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank A-M197211625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
228 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Outstanding and very informative”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The museum is well laid out and contains many interesting exhibits. I've been to Halifax many times but I learned new things about the city's history at this museum, particularly about the 1917 explosion which leveled a large part of the city. I love museums, and this is about the best Halifax has to offer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MandoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting activity.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 3 hours visiting the museum and it was very educational. Musr see with children. Very friendly personnel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank YvonC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent section dedicated to the Titanic”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A must for all lovers of the sea. In addition to the Titanic display, the exhibits pretty much cover the sailing history of North America. Wonderful collection of ships in bottles and many artifacts from actual vessels.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maritime Museum of the Atlantic also viewed

 

Been to Maritime Museum of the Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing