We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place”

Maritime Museum of the Atlantic
Ranked #7 of 137 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Immerse yourself in the rich marine history depicted by this museum's vast collection from binnacles and buoys to anchors and armaments.
Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've been going to this museum now and again ever since it opened in its current location, in the early 1980's. I love it. It's got all these model ships in glass cases - very traditional museum setting - but also lots of space and light with huge windows overlooking part of Halifax harbour. It tells the story of Halifax, as a deep-sea port, as a place where so many settlers arrived from various countries before setting off to their new locations in Canada. It has a section on the sinking of the Titanic (because most bodies taken from the sea were brought to Halifax) as well as a section for the 1917 Halifax Explosion, the largest man-made explosion prior to the bombs being dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. There is a lay-out from the Theodore Tugboat program. A live talking parrot. There's also the old Robertson's hardware store incorporated into the building, with various tools and other supplies to look at. A good book/souvenir shop selling lots of interesting things. I suppose they'd have to expand in order to have a coffee shop on site but it would be nice. Anchored outside is the CSS Acadia, which was an oceanographic research ship. I was told today that soon there will be an exhibit of the arctic expedition of 1913 which the Acadia took part in. So lots to see!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Polygona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,076
    761
    181
    27
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
172 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nothing much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The place is a bit cold and not much to see, I liked the video of the history of Halifax but could use more exhibits

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PallasParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a great time learning about the rich history of the Halifax harbor. They also give a discount on admission to CAA members.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Experienced_Foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Titanic and Halifax explosion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Good information on two disasters that hit the city of Halifax at 5 years interval : The sinking of the Titanic in 1912 and the explosion of 1917 that killed 1900 people and destroy the city. The museum also has spaces devoted to pirates, treasure hunting and scale models boats. Say hello to the museum mascot, Merlin the parrot for a good laugh!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank M2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Something for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have visited this museum as a family, couple and I have gone by myself. Although many displays are permanent, there always seems to be something new to catch my eye or peek my interest. The March Break pirate event is a perennial favourite with the younger children. I was amazed at the number of little ones in costume.

My favourite part, currently, is the Theodore Tugboat set. My daughter watched every episode over and over. This is the actual set from the popular children's show that was filmed here in Halifax. (Head to You Tube to watch some episodes and the set will have more meaning if you aren't familiar with it.)

Enjoy the museum and Halifax waterfront any time of year.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeatherJ902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maritime Museum of the Atlantic also viewed

 

Been to Maritime Museum of the Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing