We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great way to spend the day

Spending a day in Halifax at the wharf with Beaver Tails (giant flat donuts with toppings) and the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
relaxed_nomad_blog
via mobile
Impressive facility

We got there right before the noon cannon firing, so that was exciting. It was just by luck, as we... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
buckeyegirl2005
,
Convoy, Ohio
via mobile
Read all 3,369 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Halifax
from $44.72
More Info
from $33.19
More Info
from $116.30
More Info
from $80.51
More Info
Reviews (3,369)
Filter reviews
3,138 results
Traveler rating
1,857
1,071
182
20
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,857
1,071
182
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews at noon military museum re enactments cannon firing guided tour dressed in period canadian history living history national historic site great view of the city step back in time answer questions world war interesting history great place to visit few hours walk around
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,138 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Spending a day in Halifax at the wharf with Beaver Tails (giant flat donuts with toppings) and the hiking up to the Citadel and touring the fort is a great way to enjoy a nice summer day. And can’t recommend enough to try a donair after.

Thank relaxed_nomad_blog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We got there right before the noon cannon firing, so that was exciting. It was just by luck, as we were struggling up the long hill from the port. They had a very nice memorial and display honoring the end of WWI, and the trench was enlightening to what those soldiers had to go through. There were constant marching, firing, and demonstrations around and a military band that played at various areas. Price was reasonable.

Thank buckeyegirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there at mid day so saw, and heard, the gun being fired. Interesting buildings and good staff who interact with visitors and who impart very interesting information.

Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited on a recent visit to Halifax. We saw the noon day gun and the changing of the guard. Plenty of people watching.

It was very interesting to see this reenactment. Try to get there early because of the crowds.

Thank lynlcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really nice experience. Got to really experience the history of the fort and learn about what life was like. Also enjoyed the war museum and the WW1 era trench.

Thank jr1999jr1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow definitely worth going. It was an eye opener for sure. I would reccomend this historical place for everyone to see. It's like walking into a land before time. I was surprised to see so much history on display. The staff answered all questions and were very knowledgeable about the Military. You can also get tours here and it does not cost much. They even have the Old Time Clock which has a story behind it as well. Citadel hill is a huge place with so much to see so you will want to wear sneakers.

Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s the fort that protected the city. Great view point at downtown area, the Halifax Harbour, and the Angus L. McDonald Bridge that connects Halifax and Dartmouth.

Thank 793lyudmilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We actually walked all of the way to the top of the hill to view the Citadel Fort . . . what a hike !!! While we were there -- just before noon -- the canon blasted one volley that was so loud, I had to protect my ears. This fort was built to protect the city of Halifax from British and foreign invasion, but was never required, due to it's position of this extremely high position. We also learned about the explosion that leveled the entire port of Halifax, when two vessels collided -- one with more than 6,500 pounds of highly explosives on board. The blast could be heard more than 30 miles away. Photos show the devastation caused by the collision and it was quite a site. Halifax is an amazing city, with history and friendly residents.

Thank Dave46033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really enjoyed this, if you like historical stuff at all it’s worth checking out. Can easily spend a few hours here.

Thank Reese Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Citadel is central to all that happens in Halifax and is the centre around which its history is based. We were impressed by the knowledge of the staff. There is also an extensive collection of Canadian war memorabilia.

Thank bmcOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews