We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talay Thai

Talay Thai
Ranked #60 of 711 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South End
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Super Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I like Thai food and this was a great place for it. I have dietary restrictions, being gluten free. The staff were sensitive to and knowledgeable about my dietary needs. Of course, adapting Thai food to the gluten free standard is quite easy. I was staying at the Waverley Inn across the street, so this restaurant is very convenient. If I were a Halifax resident, this would be a regular stop for eating out. The restaurant was clean and attractive, the service was prompt, the food was hot, the service was great and the price was very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jam825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    63
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We didn't eat in - Had the food delivered to the hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great flavors, good price, delivery was within 45minutes and ordered last minute on a saturday night. Overall i was impressed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlpineMacK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for some where to eat at 9 pm and luckily Talay Thai was open. We had soup and pad see you and it was delicious! Definately recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 02130e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and a group came to Talay Thai yesterday night for supper. It was packed, the room was filled with people and it was quite loud. But then we were seated at our own table and got the menu. They have SO MANY choices! There's pages of choices and it was hard to decide! Everything sounded SO good!! I got the Ginger Chicken! Man was it ever spicy! But I loved it! It may have been a little too spicy but the added on rice on the side helped and so did the water. The spring rolls were also amazing! Everything was super yummy! I can't wait to go back to the Talay Thai!! :D

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
221 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Found this gem right at the end if our holiday. Both myself and my partner had salmon fishes abc it was the best that we had ever tasted salmon. Great presentation and very large portions. Wished we could go back for more. Quick and friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tandemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talay Thai also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 

Been to Talay Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing