We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No cider on the menu”
Review of Hart & Thistle - CLOSED

Hart & Thistle
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No cider on the menu”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

No cider on the menu at all. Not what I expect from a traditional styled bar, They didn't even have Strongbow or any of the new Nova Scotia crafted ciders. Service was below average and staff not very attentive or aware of what co-workers were asking for beer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank IamArcherGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    37
    24
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monterossa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average pub food, great location”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Nothing really to complain about but also nothing to rave about. Average on all levels except the view, but the same view is available free from anywhere on the waterfront. Service was fine, food OK, and prices in the average range. We had a Hart burger, large serving comprising a small mountain of chips (aka fries). The fish stew was tasty but on the hot and spicy side. This pub seems to be branching into boutique beers brewed on the premises, so it may be a great spot to sit back and try some of these.

Helpful?
Thank Jenmac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The atmosphere is no existent on a weekday during the off season but i heard from locals that it is great in the summer.
Server was good, food was fine but of the places I visited in Halifax it was the least appealing

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rico6897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“WOW!!!! What a great find!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stumbled across this pub/restaurant on my way back to the Marriott hotel. It is in a small mall on the harbour front at the very back of the mall. It is also a small micro brew pub. I had the seafood chowder....OMG! The absolute BEST seafood chowder I have every eaten. Try the curried chicken and rice, the chef is from Jamaica and it is so good!! You won't be disappointed. They have a great selection of wines and micro brews to choose from as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RMullin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Some people may not like the relaxed atmosphere during slow periods, but I've always enjoyed Hart & Thistle for this reason. The first time I visited was Xmas 2011, where I had one of the best burgers I've ever had. I returned in November 2012 and got their fish & chips -- very yummy, and the food came in less than 10 minutes. The staff is always friendly. I'm used to wait staff who seems like they're faking a smile to keep from murdering their customers, so to have a fairly relaxed server who just seems to like doing his job was refreshing.

The only downside is that my last trip they didn't have Keith's White on tap -- but the server offered some Shock Top as an alternative, which turned out to be pretty good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetzombieducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hart & Thistle also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing