We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Middle of the Road Greek Food.”
Review of Estia - CLOSED

Estia
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Description: Emulating a quintessential neighborhood restaurant in Greece, Estia offers traditional Greek cuisine made from favorite family recipes as well as an eclectic mix of contemporary meat, seafood, pasta and vegetarian dishes. A variety of Pitas, paninis, wraps and sandwiches satisfy those looking for lighter fare, and a selection of gluten free and vegan options make Estia a casual dining destination to satisfy all palates.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
161 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Middle of the Road Greek Food.”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

With all of the good reviews, we decided to give Estia a try. (We don't have a Greek food restaurant where we live right now, so we were quite excited!) The meal got off on the wrong foot right away, as our saganaki was burnt, but we decided to lump it and ordered another couple of appetizers and split a main. The grilled octopus was actually quite good, so we looked forward to our lamb souvlaki. I can't honestly say that there was anything wrong with the souvlaki, but there wasn't anything super about it either. Slightly overcooked, the lamb was dry, the potatoes didn't have much flavour and the greek salad had romaine lettuce in it. If you aren't well versed in Greek food this is an excellent place to get your first taste, but if you've spent any time in Greece (or a city with a large Greek community) you might be disappointed. Perhaps the chef was having an off night.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank danrobe2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    31
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“On a whim”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were looking for an interesting restaurant, we saw their menu, we said why not.
We split their double sampler plate, and we loved it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank landmplotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
“My new favorite Greek restaurant”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Read the reviews here and decided to try the place yesterday with friends to celebrate our anniversary. We were NOT disappointed, a warm friendly and quiet atmosphere. A very relaxed dinner, our server was friendly and pleasant, Greek music was playing in the background. A quiet relaxed meal, the food was fantastic, fast service, the four of us really loved the food. Talked to Maria the owner, very nice, thought me a little Greek LOL. We love Greek food and eat it every time we are in Halifax, this place is where we will eat from now on. Highly recommended. Efkharistó Maria efkharistó :)
Gerry from Moncton

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerryfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Favourite Halifax Greek restaurant”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I am a HUGE Greek food fan and this is my absolute favourite in Halifax. I love their vegetarian Moussaka (or their vegetarian platter to share). I'm obsessed with their tyrokafteri dip as a starter which is similar to the kopanisti dip at most other Greek restaurants in Halifax but 20x better. And Saganaki is another favourite... it's great here - I didn't even know you could mess flambéed cheese up until I went to another Greek place (also in Halifax).

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ce231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Six of us enjoyed a meal at Estia on June 11, 2012. Different dishes all good, as was the service. Easily walkable from the downtown area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amigom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estia also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing