We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We visit Estia every time that we are in Halifax”
Review of Estia - CLOSED

Estia
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Description: Emulating a quintessential neighborhood restaurant in Greece, Estia offers traditional Greek cuisine made from favorite family recipes as well as an eclectic mix of contemporary meat, seafood, pasta and vegetarian dishes. A variety of Pitas, paninis, wraps and sandwiches satisfy those looking for lighter fare, and a selection of gluten free and vegan options make Estia a casual dining destination to satisfy all palates.
Fredericton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We visit Estia every time that we are in Halifax”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stumbled upon Estia unexpectedly and can not stop eating here every time that we are in Halifax. The service is great and the food is amazing...lunch and dinner! I highly recommend trying dessert, ask your server what to chose, everything that we have had is amazing.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AandM_New_Brunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    31
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tasty =)”
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Quite a nice restuarant. Not super upscale, but the food was quite tasty. I enjoy a pesto chicken panini with french fries (~$11). Prices were very reasonable, especially for the generous portion size. The service was okay, nothing particular to report on (not the best service ever, not the worst). Restaurant is clean, quiet. A bit more casual than I anticipated, but nevertheless quite nice. Good location, right on Spring Garden Road. I would definitely go back again!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ceilidhsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“i love it !”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

The food at Estia is delicious! The price is great and the atmosphere and staff lovely!

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriNS_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine but not Fantastic”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Absolutely nothing wrong with Estia but there's nothing that takes into a higher category. Calamari was light and nice but simple items like lemon roasted potatoes are bland. The atmosphere is clean but not that warm. All in all not disappointed but it may be while before we go back.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelnik5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Greek food period”
Reviewed December 23, 2010

I travel across north America for work, but based out of Halifax. They have the best Greek food period. Maria and Peter accommodate our every fancy request,
They custom make calamari for my wife, the way she likes it just sauted.
Their Greek nacho's with tatjiki are
out of this world!

The owner is vegetarian, like me, she knows what customers expect.

Always fresh, consistent in service, portions and recipes.

I bring all my out of town friends and co workers for a taste of what they have been missing.

Don't hesitate to ask for any custom options, they always accommodate with a smile.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Subinup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estia also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing