We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local treasure”
Review of Esquire Restaurant

Esquire Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 742 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I will preface this by saying that I am a huge diner fan. The Esquire is one of those charming local diners that make neighborhoods complete. I've lived in Bedford for 15 years and have been a fan of the Esquire since day 1. Its charmingly dated decor (hope they NEVER change it!), comfort food, friendly service and good value make it a "go to" for us whenever we want a Sunday breakfast, a nice lunch or just don't feel like cooking but aren't interest in a fancy restaurant meal either. The menu offers a good range from comfort foods like hot turkey dinner, to local specialties like lobster sandwiches and chowder. I always save room for pie as their's are better than average. It gets busy there sometimes so be patient - they will take good care of you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HonzaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraftonConnor, General Manager at Esquire Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear HonzaTravels:

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about Esquire Restaurant.

We are always happy to hear from our regular customers and look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Esquire Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Esquire Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 186 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been visiting this restaurant for many years and have a special friend from out of town that would not feel that her visit was complete if she did not stop for Chowder and a piece of pie.
The staff are always friendly and the food is always great.
This is a great place to stop for lunch when you are out for a drive on the weekend!

Thank KegRoom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraftonConnor, General Manager at Esquire Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear KegRoom08:

Thank you for your positive review of our restaurant.

We are always pleased to hear from our regular customers! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Esquire Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat on a budget while house hunting and were recommended this place. Though dubious at first, we were thrilled by the ample portion size of our two-for-one pan fried haddock specials for $17.00. Our little guy had a lovely corn chowder with a warm whole wheat roll and we were entirely relieved when his milk showed up in a kid's cup with lid and straw (we forgot the sippy). I'm not sure if they get their fish from the fresh fish market across the street or not, but I like the thought of that, so that's what I'll chose to believe. I can't see why not!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraftonConnor, General Manager at Esquire Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Tari L:

Thank you for your positive review of our restaurant.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your haddock dinners and corn chowder. We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback and hope we will see you again soon. Good luck on the house hunting!

Sincerely,

Esquire Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our favourite restaurant in the Bedford area, with a big menu, fair prices, excellent service, and friendly staff.

Thank 2FansofMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraftonConnor, General Manager at Esquire Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear 2FansofMexico:

Thank you for you review of our restaurant.

We are delighted to hear that we're your favourite restaurant in Bedford! We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Esquire Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

this place may not look like much, but oh gosh...it's good...the hot turkey sandwich and fries...yum...and excellent fish and chips

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doucey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraftonConnor, General Manager at Esquire Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Doucey4:

Thank you for your positive review of our restaurant! We are pleased that you enjoyed your hot turkey sandwich and the fish & chips.

Please come see us again the next time you are in Halifax!

Sincerely,

Esquire Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esquire Restaurant also viewed

Bedford, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Bedford, Halifax Region
 

Been to Esquire Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing