We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”

Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub
Ranked #16 of 733 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I've been to Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub a few times now and I've never been disappointed. The food is great and reasonably priced. I wait and bar staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Joe McGuiness is a fantastic host!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    189
    48
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Another perfect visit”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have been here before,but it had been awhile,so we went back for another visit.
It was during the Halifax Tattoo,so the place was hopping,inside and out on the patio.
We shared caesar salad (very good) and the bruschetta(awesome)
The service was perfect!
I love love love the decor of this place-very authentic.
A great place in the hub of Halifax.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Landrys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Visited Durty Nelly's in June 2014 while wandering the streets of Halifax. The place was so busy, and understandably so. They had live music, which was very fun, and a great vibe. The waitress was so pleasant and even recommended further places to explore in the city. The atmosphere alone would make it a must-go-to Irish pub in Halifax, but combined with the food and service, I would highly recommend a visit here!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank anywherebuthere04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went here after my cousin recommended it. Wow!!! Food was simply amazing. We had the pan fried haddock which was served with a cream sauce and carrots,parsnips and beets and fries. The veggies were delicious. I highly recommend this place.
Also had the house draft beer. Rather nice also.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank outandabout4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“True Irish Pub”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This place was great! Authentic Irish Pub food and atmosphere. Friendly servers,really make you welcome. Loved our meals. A "don't miss spot" in Halifax.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank courtney106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing