We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a great wait staff”

Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub
Ranked #18 of 715 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and a great wait staff”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

A short comment on a statement by a previous reviewer who thought the pub was too new. I have had drinks at Durty Nelly's in Bunratty, Ireland. I'll take this new, clean pub anytime.

We had an outstanding Shepherd's pie and the best Canadian burger in 12 days. The salad was well put together and quite yummy. The wait staff carefully handled food allergies. We really were made to feel welcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riendenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    185
    46
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bemus Pt, NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service and food!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were here twice in four days! The first night we came for drinks/appetizers at the bar. The bartenders were great and the suggestions they made for appetizers were perfect. We ordered the scallops appetizer and the mussels in Guinness cream sauce. Both were perfect. A couple days later we ate lunch there for a group event during the day and we had the same great service, quick & efficient and the food was great. Many people we were with purchased the Durty's Nelly's apparel! Don't miss this place when coming to Halifax!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derby3680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pub Experience”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We ate here twice while in Halifax; we loved the atmosphere and the food. The pub is located near the water downtown. They offer a wide selection of beers and ales. Cheers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
474 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Second Time Unlucky”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went to Durty Nelly's soon after it opened, and although it had the decor of an Irish pub, supposedly because they went to Ireland and copied the elements from "Real" Irish pubs, but it was TOO new and too perfect. No real Irish pup looks that perfect, they are all a bit worn and aged. At that time I enjoyed the food and the beer was good. I went back this week a couple of years later, and it looks a bit better, but still is a bit too perfect. It just hasn't reached that nice worn, broken in, comfortable feeling you get in an old established pub that has had a few more Guinness spilled on the floor.

I had a Guinness, and it was good, served at the right temperature and with a nice head, but the food was not good. I had the Lamb Shank (As on the picture above). The Potato was the best part of the meal. The lamb was tough and overcooked with little actual meat on the bone. It was terrible! the vegetables were oven roasted and were over done and also tough. They tasted like they had been roasted a and left under a heat lamp. Overall a terrible meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
349 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Always a good time”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We love this place. All the interior was brought over from Ireland,we are told,so it has a very authentic look and feel.
The service is excellent,it often has Irish music and local performers singing,dancing and playing instruments.
We have eaten appetizers here twice and had one lunch...all perfect.
Love it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Landrys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing