We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub
Ranked #14 of 715 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Poor service, cold average tasting food, it was a disappointment

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank SandraNS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    185
    46
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Irish and Local Fare”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I ate there last week on a crowded Thursday night, but still had excellent service and excellent food. My wife had the shepards pie and I had their fish chowder, which was amazing. Great live music as well - that night they had a great Irish session going.

Helpful?
1 Thank SRHGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
901 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had lunch there. It was late, so almost deserted, and therefore not very atmospheric. However, the food (Irish lamb stew and Irish spring salad & chowder) was excellent, as was the Moosehead lager.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good times!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stopped in for drinks and had the famous Peppermint Paddy drink.... delicious and I would highly recommend! Great atmosphere and fun to sit and have drinks with friends. Will be back :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cutecapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great time, fabulous food”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We went to Durty Nelly's on March 11 to see a fashion show of Celtic designs. Unfortunately the power was off when we arrived and was on and off a couple of times during the time we were there. Thanks to a great server ( can't recall her name but she plays the fiddle there she said) who figured out everyone's bill while the power was off and expedited our food order as soon as the power was back on, we had a great time. The power finally came on( it was apparently a car accident down the street that cut the power) and we enjoyed really good food. The ribs were melt in your mouth delicious with a Jamesons Irish whiskey sauce. The bruchetta was great as was the spinach and artichoke dip. Lots of food and some to take home left over! We enjoyed our afternoon at Durty Nelly's and we will go back soon. The authentic Irish pub atmosphere is awesome and original.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nsjetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing