We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner with David Adjey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub

Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub
Ranked #13 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Newburgh, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner with David Adjey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We had dinner with David Adjey here. One word, SPECTACULAR! We ordered four dishes and then sampled all. We had planked salmon with seasoned mashed potatoes, braised lamb shank, beer battered haddock and chips, and a killer irish lamb stew. The ambiance was also off the map and a must see. You might have seafood high on your list while in Halifax, but don't miss this opportunity. The bar will have you enthralled. Check out the Durty Nelly's restaurant on the David Adjey's show, The Opener.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    176
    45
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flin Flon, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good fish & chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We didn't partake in the available alcohol, as it was only noon... but we went in for the fish & chips, and it didn't disappoint. The place was empty, but I know that come evening, it's hopping. Really nice decor, quick service & food. Nothing bad to say!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sipme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

great food & great atmosphere
it is a very large pub with plenty of space
we loved the fish & chips...so yummy

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grumpygus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east lasning, mi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

First day in Halifax and wanted an experience. Got one. Place was hoping, celtic music playing, crowded and stood and chatted with several groups. everyone friendly and all having fun

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobEastLasning_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuujjuaq, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great Value And A Fun Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stumbled upon Durty Nelly's as we love Irish style pubs and our usual spot The Old Triangle was too busy one night. Durty Nelly's is in a great location in the heart of Halifax on Argyle and Sackville not far from the harbourfront. I was very impressed with the decor, service and food. They also tend to have live music and the place has a very good atmosphere. If you like Irish pub style entertainment and dining this is a place well worth a look.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IslanderOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing