We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch!”
Review of Star Anise

Star Anise
Ranked #207 of 733 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was craving noodles and this place did not let me down. Reasonably priced and yummy food. I ordered the noodle plate with spring roll and the vegetables were crisp and fresh and the spring roll was crispy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisablue154964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite part of my trip”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We live in Cape Breton and every single trip to Halifax I stop at this place to get my pho! It's always tastes exactly how I remember and so worth the stop. Great location as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love the Pho”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Barrington Street in Halifax doesn't have a lot to offer. There are not many stores or restaurants and a lot of it is boarded up. However, Star Anise will make a detour there worth while. The Pho is delicious!

We always seem to end up there when our son is visiting Halifax. He's a vegetarian and we're not, but we can all get a delicious lunch or dinner at Star Anise.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 876543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went as a party of four for dinner and each of us had an excellent meal. Two of us had vermicelli (noodle) dishes, which were outstanding, and two of us had Pho (noodle soup) dishes, which were equally delicious. The flavours from the spices are incredible and you can tell great care is taken in the food preparation. All dishes are reasonably priced and the portions are very large!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salsajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great pho, cheap and cheerful!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

No matter where I travel I am always in the mood for Pho... enter Star Anise. Small place, decent sized menu, I must have eaten there/ordered here like 8 times during my stay in Halifax. The broth is very tasty, it is super reasonably priced, pork spring rolls are great, crispy shrimp crackers and fried chicken are alright too... but its really only the Pho that had me coming back. |Best one in Halifax, and apart from pizza not much delivers in Hali so good healthier option. Recommend, great value. Closed on sundays;(

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadiancazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Anise also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Star Anise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing