We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff Party... Perfect Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Stag Tavern

Red Stag Tavern
Ranked #43 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Your neighbourhood pub in the downtown core of Halifax Nova Scotia.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Staff Party... Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was the second time around for our staff part to be held at the Red Stag. Again we were all impressed!

Red Stagg is in the Brewery Market building (home of Keith's) which is a little out of the way. the history of the place is amazing with fixtures going back to the beginning of the actual brewery.

The real gem of the place is the private room. Located on the second floor, it offers booths, a leather sofa seating area with panel tele, an alcove with a pool table and a proper bar. It is ideal for a significant party.

The staff here are excellent as well. Having to deal with those who drink, it takes a certain person to do it well and they are ahead of a lot of the other watering holes in metro Halifax.

Food for our event was great. Staff loved it and it came piping hot.

Looking forward to being back next year.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    131
    57
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Open mic on Thursdays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Went there while I was walking through the Alexander Keiths's historical distric. I went on a Thursday night, so they had live music -open mic. Food average

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank usierj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedStagManagement, General Manager at Red Stag Tavern, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you Usierj for your feedback. At The Red Stag we try our best to provide not only pub food, but great food. We are sorry that your food was just average, and would love to hear more of an explanation so that we can adress this issue. Average is definitely not what we strive for, and hope that you will forward any more information regarding your visit to the email below.

Thanks again

info@lowerdeck.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Red Stag Rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great pub on Lower Water St in downtown Halifax that has a great choice of appetizers and mains. Big portions, properly cooked and served by great friendly staff. In the summer, the top deck is great for sunshine and hanging with friends. Well priced for the portion size and service. Higly recommended and I highly recomment the Alexander Keiths historic brewing tour. Again well worth the prices. Transfer lunches and birthdays are great to celebrate here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Red Stag fit the bill for a late lunch in Halifax. It's nothing to write home about. The food was average and the pub was filled with children so the atmosphere wasn't great. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedStagManagement, General Manager at Red Stag Tavern, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi Moahhikers,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your visit to The Red Stag. I apologize that your meal wasn't great, as that is always what we strive for. We actually live by the phrase, once you think that you are "good" you'll never be "great". On that note, feedback such as yours will allow us to remain at the top of our game. Unfortunately, I notice that you don't live in Halifax so a chance at redemption is probably not going to happen. However, if you do make another trip to Halifax, please give us another chance, and ask to talk to me personally, because I would want to ensure that you get the true Red Stag experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Authentic British Pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you like a pub atmosphere with plenty of beer choices, this is your place in Halifax. Had lunch here after our tour from the cruise ship. Just a block off the water and a short walk from the cruise ship dock. The burgers, fish and chips, and nachos were all excellent. The service was prompt and friendly, the prices fair and the atmosphere very nice. We'd come back here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank titiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Stag Tavern also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Red Stag Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing