We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,just ok for a hostel”

Halifax Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halifax Backpackers Hostel
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location,just ok for a hostel”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The main benefit is that you are within walking distance to almost anything you would want. The farmers market is two blocks away (go on Saturday), Atlantic Superstore and the liquor store are also very close. There are fantastic restaurants as well as the boardwalk withing a few hundred feet.

The hostel itself has a great kitchen with lots of room to store your food. There is a lounge area to watch tv also.

The rooms were just ok. I was lucky enough to have a dorm with it's own bathroom (Jamaica room, you'll know what I mean when you get there). It is not very well lit however, and parking can be a pain as it is street parking mainly. Thankfully street parking is free on weekends. I would stay there again, but would probably opt for a private room. The service is kind of what you expect for your bigger city hostels. They hand you the sheets and give you a room number. It's definitely no Cape Breton Island level of hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    15
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
4
6
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Staying at Halifax Backpackers was an amazing experience! I stayed for a few days while visiting Halifax by myself. It felt like home and I met so many great people- staff and other travellers alike. All of the staff are friendly, easy to get along with and create a welcoming, warm environment. The hostel was clean and cozy and full of positive energy! It's in a great location, really close to downtown (less than a 10 minute walk away) and their Alteregos Cafe is a great place to hang out and enjoy the most amazing coffee!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My fave hostel by far!!!! Stayed here for a couple of months and absolutely loved it, the staff, the location, the people and the atmosphere. If there was ever a fun family and home away from home, its here. The owner (Michelle) and staff take you in and make your Halifax stay one to remember. Perfect location, with down town, markets and waterfront just minutes away. I walked home from work all hours of the night/morning and felt totally safe on Gottingen Street. Loved everything about this hostel and can't say enough totally awesome things about it, plus the little cafe down stairs (Alteregos) has to die for coffee and delicious food. A must stay if you visit the maritimes!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey8t6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I love this hostel! Everytime I go back to Halifax, I know I will stay there because it became like a second home, hosting a second family. The owner and the staff are always there to help and to make the stay more enjoyable. The people I've met there were incredible. I felt like I was part of the community, like I was starting to know everyone and all the nice places. It is also very secure, never heard of someone stealing. I recommend it to everyone that wants to have a great time and meet people that will inspire them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musictraveller190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at the hostel several times while traveling through western Canada. The place is just the right size tomeet people and only a short walk from downtown. The staff and owner took us in like family and really made our stay special. . In fact not just the staff but the neighbours too. . . While sitting in the cafe we were.repeatedly introduced to locals and as a result I fell in love with the artsy gottingen street area and ended up moving there for a while. . Just writing this add makes me miss it. I cannot say enough great things about this place and the people who work there. Stay here If you're looking to see the true warmth of the maritimes.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mongoosesiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at Halifax Backpackers for three months and must say I had intense separation anxiety leaving it. It's the closest thing to home one could hope to find in Halifax.

Staff are super friendly with accommodating your specific needs. Tony knows everything you need to know about travelling in Nova Scotia (he's done shows on it for the CBC!)

The kitchen is well-stocked with gear and there's always free food in the pantry : ).

Propeller brewery is right up the street, as is the comic book store, a vintage treasure mine, and pretty much all the offices for community groups. Downtown, harbourfront, bars are minutes away.

Some of the comments directed at North End residents are frankly quite insulting. This is a historically vibrant and diverse working class community; on any given day artists, activists, musicians and writers are hanging out in the cafe. I've learned more about the real character of Halifax staying here than I have anywhere else.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank rana e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

To say I don't recommend this hostel is an understatement. It's extremely loud, filthy and the manager has a drinking problem.

If every other hotel, motel and hostel in Halifax is booked, and you're faced with the decision to stay here or spend the night in your car (or under a dry bridge) choose the latter.

I stayed there for two nights in October but didn't sleep a wink. Guests drank and played guitar outside my window till 3 a.m. I would have asked the hostel's manager to deal with this, but he was drinking with buddies and some "ladies" they met upstairs - equally loud, and slightly more creepy.

If you have an 11 pm noise curfew, you should enforce it. If you don't plan to enforce it, don't advertise it.

You know the vagrants you see around Canadian cities? The ones with mangy dogs, open sores and a knack for panhandling, because they aren't part of the system, man. Well if you ever wondered where they lived, the Halifax Backpackers Hostel is the answer.

Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RaintreeRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Commons Inn
#26 of 28 in Halifax
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Backpackers Hostel

Property: Halifax Backpackers Hostel
Address: Gottingen St, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Halifax Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halifax Backpackers Hotel Halifax
Halifax Backpackers Hostel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing