We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant, fun hostel in great location!”

Halifax Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halifax Backpackers Hostel
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
“Vibrant, fun hostel in great location!”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I came into this hostel planning on staying for a few days, and ended up staying for three weeks. The place itself is great: central location, good size with spacious rooms, secure lockers, a few common areas and a great (and cheap!) cafe downstairs. What I really loved though, were the staff. Every single person was friendly and very knowledgeable, and Michelle (the owner) is very enthusiastic about her business. All the guests, both long-term and those passing through, got on really well. Many people had already been there a while, others had stayed before, and more had come on friends and travellers recommendations. This hostel has a great community vibe to it, catering to events for guests such as weekly BBQ's.
It was a great experience, and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozjuuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    15
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
4
6
58
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in dorm.

Good bed, locker, had all we need.

Kitchen is filthy, feel tooooo dirty in my opinion.

Staff was great, very informative and helpful.

Price was good!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ariel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

First the good: the staff are really friendly and laid-back, and the cafe attached to the hostel is cute and has reasonably priced food. The bad: the place is FILTHY - the whole thing needs to be hosed down and scrubbed. The towels and sheets are old and worn, and the pillow was flat as a rock. There are no quiet hours or curfew, and there were drunk guests stumbling into the room, talking and turning on lights, and falling out of bunks until 4am. The room I stayed in was tiny, but one of the staff had crammed a bunch of his belongings into it - piles of junk. One of the beds was an old mattress on the floor. The room smelled stale and musty. There was no soap in any of the washrooms I used, and the bathmats looked like they had never been washed. I'm not generally that picky about dirt, so I am confused as to why a lot of other posters aren't mentioning this.

While some people wouldn't be bothered by the location, as a female travelling alone, there was no way I would ever walk in this neighbourhood after dark. It is really rough - there's a Salvation Army and other such agencies nearby. Nothing against this, but not somewhere that I would feel safe walking after dark.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RRR304007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The North End of Halifax is a unique and vibrant neighbourhood and you would truly be missing out if you didn't find a way to work it into your visit here. Halifax is a great city for walking and the Backpackers is very central. I spent 4 nights at the Backpackers in January. The staff is friendly and helpful. Michelle- the owner is wonderful and passionate about her business.
There are 2 floors and different common areas- so if you don't like the conversation in 1 room, there's somewhere else to go :) The showers on the main floor are better than the ones upstairs.
I was taking a course in Halifax and I was able to get a good nights sleep. The other guests here were really friendly and a lot of them had stayed here before.
The food in the cafe is delicious and fresh- vegetarian options also- And a coffee called Log Drivers Waltz...

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellebee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed for two nights at Halifax Backpackers. I have eaten at the cafe when in Halifax before and know that it is delicious gem of the city. So, it came as no surprise to have such a warm and welcoming stay at the backpackers. Michelle was wonderful and ensured that the stay was perfect and treated us like family! Food was delicious! Staff and other hostelers were friendly and a pleasure to spend time with and I hope to run into them again on my travels. The hostel is located to some of the best places to go out in Halifax and is only a short, short, short walk to downtown. I would not hesitate to stay again and would recommend staying with Halifax Backpackers if you are in Halifax.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlannaMacNevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We really enjoyed it here -- staff are friendly -- Michelle is great -- healthy food in the cafe! It was kid friendly.

Room Tip: With a kid(s), you can squeeze into a private room, but family room better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YKIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is a very friendly, clean and conveniently placed hostel. Great cafe with tasty bagels. Well recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,918 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Backpackers Hostel

Property: Halifax Backpackers Hostel
Address: Gottingen St, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Halifax Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halifax Backpackers Hotel Halifax
Halifax Backpackers Hostel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing