We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shore Line Restaurant”

Shore Line Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Digby
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Shore Line Restaurant”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Love the view from the outside deck and the food was fantastic! 10% off coupon available if you stop in at the Digby Tourist Info shop

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    149
    37
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, but they need to realize the business they closed their doors to!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had a great meal here- the chowder was amazing! However, I found it bizarre that at 9pm on the Saturday of the biggest tourist event of the year for this town, they were closing, turning people away, and acting like a small town restaurant who didn't want more business.

The Wharf Rat Rally attracks 25k+ tourists for 4 -5 days in August. You should be capitalizing on this and accomodating anyone who's hungry- stay open untill 11 or 12 on a Saturday! This made no sense to us!

Still, if you're able to catch a meal here, you ought to! Great food and a coupon available in the store up front ahead of time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christyatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Largo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Seafood”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My dinner was good, the scallop kebabs, good portion and tasty. My husband Fish'n'chips was poor, the haddock was very thin and was mostly breadcrumbs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked fish”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had lunch here on 2 occasions. The fish and chips are good. The French fries are typical but the fish is coated with a very light bread crumb coating before it is deep fried. It was served perfectly cooked -- just finishes cooking as it is delivered to your table.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“There must be better places to eat in Digby”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We were so disappointed by our visit. The place was on a limited menu because the Wharf Rat Rally was underway, which was understandable. The server tried her best, but the food was low quality and over priced. The fried clams were served with soy sauce and commercial tartar sauce, neither of which gave it flavour. I would not recommend this place for the food or drinks. Only the little front shop is worth stopping for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELINNA, Owner at Shore Line Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable eating experience at our establishment. First and foremost, we believe that our prices are in line with all other restaurants who serve seafood in Nova Scotia. Secondly, our portions are quite favorable for the price being charged and we are known by many locals for good value and quality seafood. As for your experience with us, we are not too sure what you would expect from a restaurant selling seafood in the Maritimes....our clams are WHOLE clams....floured, then deep fried. We can't change the taste or magically make them tastier. Quite possibly you may have expected "clam strips"....not sure...but we don't serve those. Yes, rice is served with soya sauce (what else would it be served with) and yes, we do use pre-portioned tartar. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shore Line Restaurant also viewed

Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Shore Line Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing