We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the Incredible Tides”
Review of Dockside Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dockside Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We just returned from a 10 day driving tour around the Lighthouse and Evangeline Routes. Our sixth and seventh nights (June 1,2) were spent at the Dockside Suites. I booked Suite D at $129 + 13%tax/ night ($10 AAA discount). this harborview suite has a kingsize bed with bathroom on the 2nd floor and the full kitchen and den with balcony located on the first. What a bargain! Every 12 hours the ebb and flow of the tides is amazing to watch. We watched the scallop boats rise and fall no less that 40 feet (that 4 stories!) Scallops are the local dish and are generally available (fried) at every restaurant in town. The Fundy Restaurant (downstairs) is nice and the food is very good. Digby is a neat town and you should stay at least two nights so that you fully appreciate the area. Don't miss the drive to Long and Brier Islands. Also, walk down to the Fisherman's Wharf and visit the Royal Fundy Market. There you can buy live lobster and freshly caught seafood to cook. OR, better yet, Joan O'Neil will cook what you pick out and you can eat it there. Lobster was #9.95 per pound. My wife was impressed with the seared scollops. We agreed that this was some of the best seafood we had on the trip.

We would definitely come back and stay here again.
Larry & Kelly

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2007

When we arrived, we checked the cupboards and drawers of the kitchen. There was the bare minimum of cutley(3 teaspoons for a family of 4), and utensils. The fridge was dirty inside.
The unit had 1 bedroom and a pullout couch.At 11 pm we opened the couch to go to bed, and 4 of the mattress springs were gone or torn out and there was a wristband from a local theme park in the bedding! The maintenance dept came up promptly the next day, when notified and installed new springs.
The unit itself was beautiful, and the balcony overlooks the bay nicely. It was very warm inside-even with both air conditioners on high
If you're a light sleeper-STAY AWAY !! The bar/nightclub is approximatley 200 ft away,below,loud and open until 3 am. It was great dance music though-lol
Due to the weather and not much to do,we even left a day early without asking for a refund as they have a 48 hour cancellation policy and our booking was for only 3 nights.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank 4woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dockside_Dreamer, Owner at Dockside Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2008

We are a Complex with numerouse Buildings & Businesses. One Suite is adjacent to our Lounge and experiences night Life noise on Thur-Fri & Sat nights. It is our policy to inform our guests accordingly. However this must not have been the case for this guest and for that we apologize. Guests who go out for the evening enjoy this suite because it is close and we ussually dscount the price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

I read all the good reviews and still pleasantly surprised when we saw the room, the balcony overlooking the harbor, had wonderful lobster and scallops for dinner, and THEN...the thumping of the "disco" DJ music from the bar started, and finally ended at 3:00 AM. It was so loud the room was vibrating. We told staff in the morning upon checkout and she said it was loud only on SOME nights. Soooo, I would ask before I made a reservation unless you can sleep through anything! The room was spotless and again the location is just spectacular!

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank Pattyjo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dockside_Dreamer, Owner at Dockside Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2008

We are a Complex with numerouse Buildings & Businesses. One Suite (A) is adjacent to our Lounge and experiences night Life noise on Thur-Fri & Sat nights. It is our policy to inform our guests accordingly. However this must not have been the case for this guest and for that we apologize. Guests who go out for the evening enjoy this suite because it is close and we ussually dscount the price. Our other Suites are not effected by the Lounge noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Dockside Suites in June of 2006 for 2 nights - what a pleasant surprise! We always try to find a place on or near the water, and I have a "thing" about balconies (sometimes I will only book a room if it has a good balcony!). We took the CAT over from Portland, and we wanted to visit the small coastal towns - off the beaten track. Digby and Dockside fit the bill! The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the view from the balcony was GREAT! The staff (who also work the restaurant downstairs) were so friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurent was also outstanding, and there are a couple of other good restaurants within walking distance. We had a great time in Digby, and hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Cannot say enough great things about dockside and the whole fundy complex. Prebooked one night for our honeymoon and were upgraded upon arrival to suite d, a 2 level enormous suite. Upper level king size bed, huge BR, bath w/jet tub. Lower level LR, Kitchen, eat area, patiodoors opening to balcony. All brand new and gorgeous. But the best part was the view overlooking the water and the wharf. Unbelievable experience, friendly staff, restaurant/bar good food at decent prices. Will definitely stay again if in Digby

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinfoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2006

My suite was booked by a friend so when I arrived I was more than impressed! These suites(I visited another) are elagently done with a unique feel of individuality & comfort.Very clean & modern in a setting that takes your breath away overlooking the Digby harbour & fishing fleet.The rounded ceilings & well appointed rooms provide an air of spaceousness & relaxation.The staff were very eager to please & management went out of their way for accomodate our every request.

Highly recommended!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

Nice place. Great view and clean rooms. Seems that some extrta attention could have been spent on the smaller details. IE, the caulking around the tub looked like it was done by a do-it-your selfer and the doors to the suites were the thin cheaper type that offered no sound proofing and had a large gap under it. That being said, the room was very spacious, king size bed, jacuzzi tub (smaller than some but still nice), small fridge was excelent addition for keeping snacks and drinks cold, microwave, TV with DVD and VHS. Good!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nova_Scotia_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digby
1.6 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
0.7 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#6 of 7 in Digby
46 reviews
2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 14 in Digby
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Suites

Address: 34 Water St, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Digby
Price Range: $96 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dockside Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dockside Suites - Canada Select 4.5 star. Beatuiful ocean front, self contained suites with outdoor balcony's overlooking Annapolis Basin and Marina. Open year round. Also on site 2 restaurants, Lounge, pub, kayak rentals, meeting/banquette room for up to 50, rare live lobster displays Fundy Restaurant has been serving local seafood for over 60 years. 3 Out door dinning patio's. All located Down Town Digby. Rates from $109 to $189. A Division of the Fundy Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dockside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dockside Hotel Digby
Dockside Suites Digby, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing