We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for the ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The view from the room was wonderful and the restaurant though expensive was excellent and the service brilliant. Sadly the same could not be said for the front desk staff at check in and check out. Very offhand abrupt and unfriendly. The room was sold as deluxe. We'll if that was deluxe I'm pleased we weren't in standard! The bed was uncomfortable and the furnishings sparse and dated to say the least.If it wasn't for the restaurant I would have rated this hotel lower than average.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hillwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 294 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages. The cottages are really a unit of three rooms detached from the main building. They include a fridge, microwave, and balcony. The view off the balcony is nice, although road noise can be intrusive.

Walls are THIN. We and another couple each had an outside unit with an empty unit between us. We could clearly hear the other couple. Noisy neighbors would be a problem.

Fittings are adequate, but dated and showing some wear and tear. The wireless signal was weak. My laptop could pull it in and connect, but my wife's Android phone could not. Overall we thought the price was a bit high for the time of year and state of accommodations.

Location is excellent, with easy access to the St. John/Digby Ferry and the town of Digby. We did not try the restaurant, but it was nice knowing it was available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackRoadBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by a local we whilst out walking this morning. The meal and service were okay. We did not feel pressurised to vacate the table. The meal was not the cheapest we have nor the most expensive. The selling point for the resuarant is the view over the bay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcolm56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a great Restaurant! The restaurant is elevated with unbelievable expansive views of the Digby Riviera! The awesome views pair well with the incredibly fresh seafood on the menu. I had the freshest, generous serving of Fish and Chips in town, with a glass of local wine from Annapolis Highland Winery. The food, the wine and the views make the Admiral Digby the "Trifecta" of excellent dining the region has to offer!

Room Tip: Tell the desk you want the Admiral's room! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annapolis-Oenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This property is like slipping into a warm cozy blanket. With it's extremely friendly and well trained staff, both at the Front Desk and the Restaurant. The owners were knowledgeable about the area and willing to chat. Clean rooms and property. Food was phenomenal. So much to see and so little time.

Beautiful outdoor deck to sit and watch the sun go down and the moon on the water. Thanks for the visit. Close to the ferry dock.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The motel itself was clean and comfortable and the view of the bay from each room spectacular - but the real star here was the Scallop entree at the restaurant. Often 'must-do' stuff gets so hyped up that you end up being disappointed when you finally get around to the 'doing' - that wasn't the case here. My wife and I liked the scallops so much we ordered another full entree for dessert.

Room Tip: The Inn is built into a hill so sll rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank negraeffr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Friendly and very clean place. Location is right near ferry dock but on a hill overlooking the water and a short drive into town. Front desk personnel are very nice. Ask for discount coupon for restaurant if they forget to give it to you. Gets you 10% off. Hotel has an indoor pool but we were so busy with nearby activities we didn't have time to use it. Breakfast in restaurant was good - lightest, fluffiest pancakes ever! One day when breakfast dining room was full it took 40 minutes or so to get served, otherwise was fine. A lovely place would definitely recommend. We stayed three nights.

Room Tip: rooms on second floor have great views. hotel is on a hill so second floor rooms enable drive up ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digby
3.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
120 reviews
13.1 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#6 of 7 in Digby
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
192 reviews
1.9 mi away
Siesta Motel
Siesta Motel
#7 of 7 in Digby
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages

Address: 441 Shore Rd, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Price Range: $89 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages overlooks the Digby Harbour and Bay of Fundy. All rooms and Cottages have an ocean view. We are rated 31/2*. We have an excellent Restaurant on site serving fresh homemade seafood, etc, lounge to relax and unwind, public laundry, indoor pool and very friendly staff. We are a minute drive from the Saint John/Digby Ferry. Whale watching, Beaches, Historical sites close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Digby Inn & Cottages Ltd Hotel Digby
Admiral Digby Inn And Cottages Ltd
Admiral Digby Inn And Cottages Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing