We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The accomodations are cleaner than they were in 2010 but little else has changed. I did eat at the restaurant this time on the recomendation of a friend. The bacon wrapped scallops were FANTASTIC... but the fish was bland, and the serving of mixed veggies was only 5 green beans, 3 tiny pieces of broccoli and 1 carrot. Skimpy portions/high prices.
Still a very good place to stay if taking the morning ferry.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 296 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our second stay at the Admiral Inn. Each time it filled the need, however, we noticed a significant increase in rates this year and nothing more was added. It is no longer competitive. The sort of feel they have a lock on the market due to location but there are plenty of other spots in the town of Digby. The restaurant staff were very pleasant but the food (breakfast) was no more than grocery-store bought stuff heated.

Room Tip: Each time our room was the same quality and nothing special about it. All have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicheAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If the spectacular views of the Bay of Fundy were the only things this inn offered I would still stay there. The rooms are a bit rustic but large with a divided bathroom - newly renovated - that was rather small. The scenic view of the Bay of Fundy from our room and the restaurant was spectacular. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The guest computer was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We chose this hotel because it is close to the Digby/St John ferry. It was OK but a bit dated. We were surprised by the restaurant-had a lobster special the night we were there which was very good. Overall good value for the price and location. All rooms have a view of the bay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVAHoustonTXUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

On our vacation trip from Florida to PEI and Nova Scotia, we decided to take the ferry from NS to St John's New Brunswick (nice ride). We searched for hotels in the area and found the Admiral Digby Inn, and booked it for one night. We arrived early in the afternoon and checked in. The staff was VERY helpful with ideas and suggestions for whale watching, and suggested their own restaurant at the Inn for dinner. This is NOT your average hotel-connected restaurant, but more on that shortly. The room was spotless, spacious, and totally clean. The bathroom was large, and the beds comfortable. The setting is beaujtiful, overlooking the large bay in front, just a quarter of a mile from the ferry site (and you'll see the salmon farms in the bay). My wife and I sat on the benches out front and watched the gulls fly over the water. I am not a "birder", but simply enjoyed the view and the relaxation. We drove to downtown Digby, a charming little village with lots of waterfront dining. Digby ia famous for its "Digby scallops." We had bacon-wrapped scallops at the Dockside restaurant that were to die for. The best I've ever had, untill...
We had dinner that night at the restaurant at the Inn. My wife had a full lobster dinner for $19.99 which she totally enjoyed. I had the seared scallops (also $19.99), and they were fantastic- meaty, well seasoned, and the sides (steamed vegetables and mashed potatoes) were perfectly done. The Admiral Digby Inn was a total success on all fronts. Friendly staff, great setting, comfortable rooms, delicious food. We consider ourselves fortunate to have found this little gem on the Nova Scotia coast.

Room Tip: Always select the largest bed available, and a ground floor location, no matter where you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We come to Nova Scotia each year in June to visit our kids and grandkids. We needed a place for all to gather and found the Admiral Digby Inn to be the perfect place to do just that... The g'kids loved the swimming pool, and the room was perfect for a small picnic with the kiddies one day for lunch. The people here are extremely pleasant and gave us the personal touch that makes a vacation special. We had dinner in the restaurant and everyone enjoyed their meals immensely and the chef made an awesome grilled cheese for our g'son that everyone is still raving about. Thanks to the owners and staff at the Admiral Digby Inn for helping to make our vacation with the kiddies a very memorable one.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent, awesome view.. very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bopette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I recently stayed here on a visit to Digby. The room was nicely furnished with a big tv & nice big bathroom. The Inn is both a short drive into Digby & the ferry terminal to Saint John N.B. Nice restaurant with great food upstairs from reception.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Platon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digby
3.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
120 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#6 of 7 in Digby
45 reviews
13.0 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
192 reviews
3.2 mi away
Basinview Motel
Basinview Motel
#2 of 2 in Smith's Cove
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages

Address: 441 Shore Rd, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Price Range: $105 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages overlooks the Digby Harbour and Bay of Fundy. All rooms and Cottages have an ocean view. We are rated 31/2*. We have an excellent Restaurant on site serving fresh homemade seafood, etc, lounge to relax and unwind, public laundry, indoor pool and very friendly staff. We are a minute drive from the Saint John/Digby Ferry. Whale watching, Beaches, Historical sites close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Digby Inn And Cottages Ltd
Admiral Digby Inn & Cottages Ltd Hotel Digby
Admiral Digby Inn And Cottages Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing