We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Certificate of Excellence
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great view!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room which was in a separate building from the motel. It was large, bright, airy and comfortable, with chairs on a balcony overlooking the bay. All the rooms have a view of the bay, but not a balcony. Our view included the ferry, only a minute away, and we could see the fishing boats going in and out. The room included a fridge and microwave. It was very clean, although in need of some minor repairs (I.e., there were cracks in the bathroom sink).

There is a washer and dryer in the main building.

Room charge included a discount on breakfast in the dining room. We took advantage of that on most mornings, and had coffee in our room before breakfast to offset the $2 cost at breakfast.

The rooms are near the road, but there is very little traffic. We learned the first night, though, that if you leave the windows open, you will be awakened by traffic - including tractor trailers and motorcycles - as they exit the ferry at 2:00AM.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the bay, select a top floor room or upgrade to a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    110
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
90
101
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed here while traveling on business on my way to Yarmouth. I was upgraded to a deluxe suite upon arrival. The view from the balcony was amazing. I had dinner at there restaurant and was pleasantly surprised to learn they use all local produce and ingredients. It is independently owned places like this that make traveling for work time well spent

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhaley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Admiral Digby is a great place to stay when visiting Nova Scotia. The hotel overlooks the Bay and is just an absolutely amazing site watching the fogs roll in off of the water in the early morning and at sunset. I really enjoyed staying here-everyone was super friendly and the rooms were excellent- Elliott

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELBOW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed twice in the last month at the Admiral Inn, both pre-season visits, yet full amenities were available. The restaurant features fantastic local specials each day, the food is excellent as is the service. The hotel is located conveniently close to the ferry, and overlooks the beautiful Annapolis Bay. On a more personal note, I was pleasantly surpised by the owners willingness to accomadate my travel requirements- motorcylce parking; very rider friendly.

Room Tip: View is amazing from second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Never have I seen an indoor pool close for the winter at a motel... The continental breakfast was removed since I'd last visited and the dining service was embarrassing as they seemed incapable of delivering a decent meal for quite a small room of diners in less than an hour... Depressing when you see the beautiful Pines resort next door, I would recommend staying there or at another B&B in town. Being so close to the ferry was the only positive aspect of this place for my husband and I.

Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireLafontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This motel is the closest and by far the most convenient if you're planning to take the 8:00 a.m. ferry to St. John. It is reasonably priced, and our room was very clean and comfortable. Although we stayed only one night, we would have been happy to stay here longer if our itinerary permitted.

Although this is an older building, everything was well maintained and in good working order. Rooms include a fridge and coffee maker. All rooms have a nice view of the ocean across the street.

The (indoor) pool was closed for the season during our visit (in early October) but this was not a concern for us. We were first in line 6:30 a.m (when the restaurant opened) and had time for a quick breakfast (which was very good) and still easily make the 8:00 a.m. ferry. (Meals are also available on the ferry.) We also had a very nice meal at the Captain's Cabin restaurant in Digby.

We can readily endorse a stay at the Admiral Digby. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are on the lower level. Rooms in the back (also drive-up accessible) are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My wife and I have traveled on 5 continents and visited 23 countries to date. We have stayed at some of the finest and most expensive hotels in the world. Visting Nova Scotia we wanted to enjoy the area as it is and stay at a place that matches the surroundings. We booked 2 nights at the Admiral Digby Inn - but stayed three!! We enjoyed our 1-bedroom cottage nestled in the woods! The hotel is close to Digby Neck for doing the Whale Watching Tours (Try the Zodiac Whale Tours - we did and it was amazing !) and also close to Annapolis Royale which is a very nice quaint little town. The wi-fi at this hotel was better than the speed I got with my Verizon coverage (and I added a Canadian plan to my coverage before I left). Our cottage was very clean, the owners of the Inn are very nice too! Downtown Digby is close to the Inn and there are some shops and restaurants there. The hotel offers food service as well, but part of vacation is getting out and about so we did.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage in the back....its nestled right in the back by the woods !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickb0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digby
3.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
114 reviews
13.1 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
104 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#7 of 7 in Digby
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seawinds Motel
Seawinds Motel
#3 of 7 in Digby
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages

Property: Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
Address: 441 Shore Rd, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages overlooks the Digby Harbour and Bay of Fundy. All rooms and Cottages have an ocean view. We are rated 31/2*. We have an excellent Restaurant on site serving fresh homemade seafood, etc, lounge to relax and unwind, public laundry, indoor pool and very friendly staff. We are a minute drive from the Saint John/Digby Ferry. Whale watching, Beaches, Historical sites close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Digby Inn And Cottages Ltd
Admiral Digby Inn & Cottages Ltd Hotel Digby
Admiral Digby Inn And Cottages Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing