We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Digby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our stay was brief, but delightful. Darren could not have been more helpful, and packed us a healthy breakfast to take on the ferry as we were leaving quite early in the am. A short, lovely walk to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    45
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
79
181
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here in July this year. The proprietor, Vance, was so friendly and helpful - our luggage had got lost in Heathrow and Air Canada were determined to get it to us. We waited up as long as we could and awoke at 1.30am to hear voices= Vance dealing with our luggage. The Inn itself is in a lovely setting, the garden is a delight and there are pleasant walks around, we only had time to explore the graveyard and the beach but could happily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed recently at this Inn in a 2-bedroom suite. Totally pleased with everything - the rooms were spacious, clean, comfy beds, extra pillows and excellent wi-fi. Breakfast was superb. Must mention the strawberries at brecky were just delicious! Darren and Vance are just so nice and personable, as all the staff we came in contact with. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. We will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I rented one of their suites and were not disappointed. I am a walker and was able to walk along the cove at low tide. There is also a rail trail that runs through the property allowing miles of beautiful walking. Breakfasts were delicious and welcoming. I highly recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Harbourview July 11 and 12, 2014. We booked the 2 nights with whale watch package and were not disappointed. The Inn is lovely and Darren was a pleasure to speak with. He and his partner take great pride in their establishment and it shows. Darren plays "bartender" which is great for a nice after dinner cocktail. Our only issue is that one needed to pay for non-alcoholic beverages. I think it would be a great gesture to offer guests complimentary non-alcoholic drinks. Disappointed to have to pay $2.00 for a cold bottle of water. Other than this "issue", we would highly recommend Harbourview when exploring this part of our beautiful province.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happiness_at_last
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This is reminiscent of an old world resort - grand old house with amenities. There is a pool, beach, tennis court, bicycles in a quiet country setting just outside Digby. Darren setup a whale watching charter for us and was accommodating to change it AND send the voucher to the vendor by fax as we hadn't checked in yet. Good directions were provided too with ferry schedules and timings. Full service treatment -- breakfast was packaged up for my young niece and laundry was washed and folded for a reasonable rate. I would return for a couple of days on a future visit to Nova Scotia.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our stay here was very brief as we caught the early morning ferry to St John's. We were made very welcome, our hosts gave us a ground floor room, so nobody would be disturbed by our early exit. Provided a welcome packed breakfast for the ferry. We, also, enjoyed a pleasant glass of wine in a very comfortable reception area. Would have liked a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudithH511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digby
3.5 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
0.6 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
117 reviews
12.4 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Cliffside B & B
Cliffside B & B
#3 of 14 in Digby
81 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 14 in Digby
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 25 Harbourview Road | Smiths Cove, Digby, Nova Scotia B0S 1S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbourview Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbourview Inn, an historic Nova Scotia bed and breakfast nestled among the beautiful oaks, white birch, and elms of Smith's Cove is truly a quiet refuge. Rated with four stars by Canada Select, Harbourview is located near Digby, Nova Scotia on Canada's east coast in one of the most historic and scenic areas of Nova Scotia. Guests love the warm hospitality, the beautiful rooms, complimentary breakfasts, and free wireless internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Inn Digby, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing